Surah Al Baqarah: 8-16


Check your heart and tongue are they coinciding or contradicting?

 

A believer’s heart, tongue and action all need to be aligned, if they are then it ensures that one has attained pure faith. On the other hand, a hypocrite has discrepancy, in his heart, actions and tongue. He is dishonest and an imposter, who tries to deceive everyone around him and creates webs full of lies and deceit.  All people hate frauds and pretenders. Would we want to be one of them? Even Allah says that the hypocrites will have the worst kind of punishment! They will have Allah’s Wrath, anger of the worst kind.

 

Now it’s turn to analyze myself. What group do I belong to? I like to think I am an honest person, I believe I don’t have the 3 signs of a hypocrite. That is when I speak, I don’t lie, when I make a promise, I try to keep and if I am entrusted with something I usually can be trusted. However, I would say I don’t think I have the purest of faith. For example, if I believe that some wrong things are happening in this world that go against my religion, then I should make more effort to show it with my actions or say something with my tongue. Also, even though I detest the concept of deceiving, it normally happens that I improve my Salah, lengthen my sajdahs and rokous if someone else is present. I try to be conscious of the fact that if I do that, then my prayer is void, as I don’t have the sincere intentions of praying for Allah. Instead I am praying for the person who is present at that time.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surah Al Baqarah: 8-16

  1. Zahra says:

    Duas can really help us from hypocrisy.Two appropriate duas are Allahuma Tahir Qalbi minan Nifaq wa ‘amali minariya ….and Allahuma Inni asaluka Ilman Nafiun wa Amalan Mutaqabbalan wa rizqun tayyibah.

Leave a Reply

