Surah Al-Baqarah Verses 30-70


Q. Taking a lesson from Adam and the angels, what should I do when I make a mistake or I sin?

It is really important to accept one’s mistake and one should try not to repeat it again .I am really close and frank with my khala and at a dinner she had made a bun. I told her she was looking different and so when she asked how, I said, “Like a dusooza”. She told everyone jokingly that I had given her the best compliment. When I went home I realized that I should have been more careful with my words. I decided to apologize and the next day I sent her an apologetic sms with the Hadith of Prophet (saw) that: “He who truly believes in Allah and the last Day, should either speak good or keep silent.”(Bukhari, Muslim).When I met her later during the day she told me that she got my sms and that it was not a big deal.

I should sincerely ask Allah for forgiveness and read nafl for it. Also I should make a firm resolve not to repeat it again. As true taubah is when we make a vow not to repeat the same mistake again. The time of tahajjud is a good time to ask for repentance also as duas are accepted at that time. I should also keep a penalty. For instance, when I miss Fajr prayer I am not allowed to have tea that day although sometimes I can’t control myself and end up having it. When I do so I ask Allah for forgiveness again. Once I fasted as a penalty.

Allah gives and forgives, man gets and forgets. Make a list of sins for which you want to repent without delay. Also make a list for blessings for which you should be grateful for without delay.

BLESSINGS (Alhamdulillah):

1. Being born in a Muslim family
2. Opportunity to study Kalam Allah
3. We have an audience to teach Kalam Allah
4. Since I am not married yet I do not have as many responsibilities that may not allow me to give Quran enough time
5. Amazing parents, grandparents, siblings and the rest of the family who are very caring
6. My mother, grandmother and aunt who are mostly supportive in matters of deen.
7. Sisters in deen
8. School, university friends
9. Free time
10. Got a chance to study abroad
11. Recovered from subarachnoid hemorrhage without any damage to any part of the body i.e. no permanent damage.
12. Eyes to see, legs for walking, nose for smelling, taste buds for tasting food, ears for hearing
13. Comfortable home where we have AC’s, lights, comfortable beds,2 cars, fridge with food ,clothes, helpers, washing machine, clean water
14. Curtains and doors for privacy
15. Beauty of the universe-sky, moon, stars, plants, animals, birds etc
16. Traveling via a car, airplane, train
17. Internet
18. Audio cassettes, CD’s
19. Television
20. Cell phone and telephones

Q. Is there is a command of Allah’s that I am deliberately not acting on, that I doubt, that I keep on asking for clarification about? What should I do?

Yes there is. I wear a chaddar mostly and sometimes a long dupatta. At Quran classes and sometimes when I go out I wear an Abaya. I know Abaya is the best option but I have been delaying it because my immediate family that I care most about does not like it. I am worried about their reactions.
I have been praying to Allah for strength and should keep on praying. Also, I should exercise hikmah as one of my spiritual mothers had guided me. Nevertheless, since Allah’s Ahkam should be given a priority one day I will have to take a stand before it is too late. May Allah be our wali.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surah Al-Baqarah Verses 30-70

  1. Uzma Jawed says:

    I really liked your very thorough response to the questions. Especially when you mentioned the hadith about saying good or staying silent. I think that is so important for us to remember that. I myself am a very talkative person. I would especially like to remember that at all times.

    Also, what you mentioned about wanting to wear the abaya more frequently. May Allah give you the strength to do jihad against your own nafs and help you remember that the everlasting reward is more pleasurable than the temporary approval in our family’s eyes. May Allah help us all to remember that.

Leave a Reply

