Reflecting on S Baqarah ayahs 284-286


“I know I am human and I make mistakes. Do I turn to Allah to seek His forgiveness, and do I trust Him if He gives me a challenge and believe I can do it?”

 We NEVER want to admit our own mistakes. We think we are at least better than others. And our sins are not as big as someone else’s. Also, we never have the TIME to pray and ask for Allah’s forgiveness. We always say we’ll sit and do dua in the next prayer…but the next prayer never comes.

 Today at Sultan Mosque, where I go for Taraweeh the Imam did a very sincere and relevant dua regarding forgiveness.  He said we are all constantly making mistakes and sinning all the time. And if it were not for Allah’s fadl and rehma it wouldn’t be possible for us to be forgiven. It was very humbling and very true. May Allah forgive all of us through his fadl and rehma.

 If Allah gives me a challenge, I think I am very weak and give up very soon. Just the other day a situation asked me to be patient; unfortunately I wasn’t able to do so. I sincerely wish that if I am challenged, I need to remember that Allah only challenges us to the extent that we can bear it. But Allah, we are very weak and not up to the challenges. Make the challenges easy for us, and help us and guide us, and grant us patience through out the way.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflecting on S Baqarah ayahs 284-286

  1. Farah says:

    Its very true, I know I make mistakes. I am aware that Allah is forgiving, and if I ask for forgiveness, He will forgive me. But I rarely ask for forgiveness. I do it half-heartedly “Allah, please forgive me, and send me to Jannah”. But I don’t actually sit down and think “what mistakes have I really made” and ask for forgiveness for each one – I assume a general request for forgiveness is enough.

    This Ramzan, one night I tried, and it felt very odd. Firstly, imagine trying to work out every mistake you’ve made – you’d be there forever. Secondly, who admits their mistakes? And finally, the most difficult thing about asking forgiveness is the feeling you get, of regret and shame – why did I do this in the first place.

    After that night I realised, I have to be more aware of what I do. If I feel bad just asking for forgiveness about it, why did I not feel bad when I was doing the act? That should be my deterrent. Additionally, I NEED to be aware of each mistake, and then ask forgiveness for it. If I accidentally step on someones foot, I say sorry there and then, so why do I not do the same thing when I wrong Allah?

    Allah has given me the ability to ask for forgiveness, I just need to use it, and turn to Him.

Leave a Reply

