Reflecting on S Yunus:21-30


In the duniya we do many things to enhance our appearance. What have I done to enhance my appearance on the Day of Judgement? What can I do?

I will reflect on this question in light of “meeting with Allah, “since we dress up in the duniya and enhance our appearance especially when we are going to meet someone. So I ask myself, “ Am I all dressed up and ready to meet Allah?” This meeting will be a very unique one unlike what I experience when I meet someone in the duniya. In this meeting Allah will not only be aware of my physical condition but also my innermost condition.

With the study of the Qur’an, I have started to worry about the condition of my heart. For me the appearance of my heart is a more important aspect now. Because I understand what we feel inside is what shows up on our faces as we learnt in Surah Al-Imran, Ayah 106 and recently in Surah Younus Ayah 26. This is so true. When we are sad, no matter how much make up we put on, the sadness shows up on our face. Just like when we are happy, our face glows. So in the duniya even if I have been able to cover up the blemishes for people and also cover up the condition of my heart, the condition of the heart will rise up through to my face on the Day of Judgment. Nothing can prevent the glow if there is to be one and nothing will prevent the darkness from the face if it is to be dark.

So I have started working on the condition of my heart to ensure that on the Day of Judgment, I look as if I have just gotten a very expensive facial and that my face glows. I think this is a start towards enhancing my appearance for akhirah. What can I do still?

I have to look deep inside within myself to see what troubles my conscience. I have to continue to do taubah. I have to rectify my amal in light of the ayahs I have learnt. That is Allah’s expectation of me. I have to remain steadfast in this journey till death. I have to do every act of worship with the deepest sincerity and devotion. I have to ensure that each ibadah has touched my heart and soul so as to cleanse it and purify it. Even when I go wrong and I know I will because shaitan is there to misguide me and that I am human, I have to remain strong within and tell myself that I will regain my strength with the Qur’an. I will pray to Allah to continue to strengthen me with deen. With all of the above inshallah, there is no way that my heart will not be affected positively, thereby ensuring the blemishes of the heart to be removed. Once they are removed, and as I continue my quest, I will continue my prayer to Allah to include me amongst those people whose faces are glowing and shining on the Day of Judgement inshallah. And Allah is Always All hearing, Always All Knowing.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

