Reflecting on S Yunus:31-52


Since it is not possible that the Qur’an is from anyone but Allah (Ayah 38), what must I do?

1. Having covered the many juz we have, now I am really beginning to realize that Qalam Allah is heavy. It is really not like reading a fiction novel and forgetting about it. I have been feeling the weight of it. It is weighing me down and forcing me to the deepest of realizations. I believe this is part of the penetration process. I actually take this as a positive thing since the realization is forcing me to become uncomfortable with even the tiniest of things disliked by Allah and making it seem so big that I am forced to rethink of its existence as part of my everyday life. I worry about ridding of it as if I have to throw out foul smelling trash from my kitchen. What if Allah doesn’t forgive me for this smallest of thing I did wrong today? It is a big what if and extremely scary.

In this particular lesson, I felt like I was a child put in a corner by my mother and given a lecture on things that I have done wrong-things which seem fair seeming at the moment you are doing them, but when your parents give you a lecture on it, you do realize how stupid an action it was. And a realization of: oh my gosh, this particular thing would have really killed me and now that Mom is explaining it to me, I understand it much more clearly. I will never do it again.

The particular style of questioning: Fama lakum, kaifa takumoon (Ayah 35), Fa anna tu’fakoon (Ayah 34) Afala Tataqun (Aya 31) is very intense. Allah makes it so clear yet we deny? How can I deny? I cannot take it as merely a lesson I have covered in class today. It has come home with me and I will ensure that it becomes a part of my life. This is foremost inshallah and this is the haqq. If anyone is to stand up against it, they will fall. Haqq as it has done in the past will stand the test of time and people. I have to do my bit of learning it, following it, being consistent with it, spreading it and not letting go of it no matter what. Allah’s help will come with it in the duniya and akhira inshallah. This is the conviction.

2. Knowing that the Quran is from no one but Allah, I must have no doubts in it. I should take it to be as the final word of Allah. I should do as Allah commands me to do in the Quran, taking that which He states as halal as halal and the haram as haram. Anytime Allah invites to an act of khair, I should rush towards it. Antime , Allah forbids from an act , I should abstain from it. My reaction should me immediate without any doubts and without making excuses.

I must take every ayah of the Quran for myself. I should analyze my behavior and try to mould it in the way Allah wants, as He has stated in His book.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

