Reflecting on Surah Yunus :53-59


“The Quran has been sent as an instruction from our Rabb, a cure for whatever diseases are in the heart, a guidance and a blessing for the true believers. Whenever I am faced with a problem, who do I turn to for guidance?”

Whenever I would face a problem I would turn to people for guidance but now Alhamdulillah I turn to the Quran. At moments in which I am really upset or depressed, I turn to the Quran. I remember once when I was really depressed, my mom told me to stop crying and keep reading the Quran which was in front of me.

About 3 months ago, I was feeling completely overwhelmed with my problems. I started thinking to myself maybe I’m under the influence of black magic or maybe have been inflicted by the evil eye. Different thoughts came into my mind. I decided to visit certain maulvis who would cure black magic (something I never ever wanted to resort to, because I never wanted to turn to anyone but Allah). I even called up a maulvi who told me to recite certain surahs and dhaam which I could do. Feeling discontent with his reply (maybe because I was not really sure if what I was facing was actually black magic and that it could be cured), I sat on my bed really upset and hopeless. I didn’t think I could ever find a cure. At that moment I turned to my right and found the solution to my problem: The Quran.

 The first think that struck my mind was: “I have found the solution to my problem.” I had been running around, trying to find solutions elsewhere when the solution to my problems was right next to me, yet I never gave it any thought.

Another specific incident, in which the Quran really was a comfort for me and guided me, occurred recently.

I was going to get married this month. All the preparations for my wedding had taken place. I thought finally I’m getting married and told everyone about it. Once again my relatives unjustly interfered. I was extremely upset and had been crying for 3 straights hours. I decided I couldn’t take it anymore. I had been patient for 6 years. I thought to myself I won’t stay patient anymore. This time I’ll retaliate by revealing things I know about them etc. I started making more plans, which didn’t really come into the category of equal retribution and didn’t seem right.

I remembered that in a class my teacher told us, that whenever we are facing a problem, we should take the Quran, just open it up and start reading from wherever we open it. So I took the Quran, I opened it and started reading. As I did, the pages kept flipping back, so I decided to read from the pages it was flipping to. When I did I came across the perfect solution to my problem, the verses guided me to the RIGHT thing to do. The verses were as follows from Surah Ash-Shura :

39. And those who, when an oppressive wrong is done to them, take revenge.

40. The recompense for an evil is an evil like thereof; but whoever forgives and makes reconciliation, his reward is with Allah. Verily, He likes not the Zalimun.

41. And indeed whosoever takes revenge after he has suffered wrong, for such there is no way (of blame) against them.

42. The way (of blame) is only against those who oppress men and rebel in earth without justification; for such there will be a painful torment.

43. And verily, whosoever shows patience and forgives, that would truly be from the things recommended by Allah.”

I found comfort in reading these verses. Then I told myself, I would be patient and, even though its really hard, I will forgive them. Reading these verses, I also realized I should rely on Allah and trust in His plans, because we may plot and others may plot but Allah is the Best of Planners.

The Quran is indeed a cure for all diseases and guidance. May Allah give us the Taufeeq to hold onto it, turn to it for guidance and give it its due Haqq. AMEEN.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

