Reflecting on Surah Hud:25-49


If my friends or my family are practicing Muslims but I am not, can they save me on the Day of Judgement? What must I do to save myself? What must I do to save my family?

Each of us will answer for their deeds themselves. It is quite frightening to imagine oneself standing alone before Allah, with none of our close relations, upon whom we rely so much in dunya ,there to help or defend us. True well wishing means encouraging all those we love to do what is right, and be good Muslims in order to help them make their akhira better, because that is everlasting.The inly way to save ourselves and our family and friends is to learn and teach the commandments of Allah SWT , and do everything to please Him, rather than people.

Sana Ahmad

And Nooh called to his Lord and said: ‘O My Lord! Verily, my son is of my family! And indeed, Your promise is true; and You are the Most Just of the judges.’He said: ‘O Nooh! Indeed, he is not of your family; verily, his work was unrighteous, so ask not of Me that of which you have no knowledge! Indeed, I admonish you, lest you be among the ignorant.’”

[11: 45-46]

It’s funny how my ears were tuned to hear the Reflection Question to be the other way round – that if my friends and family are NOT practicing Muslims but I AM…

Astaghfirullaah! This just shows how unfortunately, when we start becoming affiliated with the Qur’aan, we unconsciously start referring to those who aren’t, as if they’re another category altogether. We have to stop thinking of ourselves as ‘us’ and them as ‘them’!

 In fact, I have found and felt that many people, who have not studied the Qur’aan in depth or are not committing overt acts of piety, still have a lot more eemaan than I do and are more practicing than me. I admire and envy such people because I know that had I not been studying the Qur’aan, I wouldn’t have even had this much.

 If my friends or my family are practicing Muslims but I am not, then they cannot save me on the Day of Judgement. However I feel myself inclining towards this idea when I become close to someone who is extremely muttaqee. Firstly Shaytaan keeps saying to me: ‘You are of no value, but Allaah joined you with this person – this person of such high rank, even though you are not even worthy of her company! Why would Allaah do this, except to take you to Jannah through her…’ When I shun this idea because it seems too good to be true and it opposes what is found in the Seerah, then I start thinking to myself: I really love this person, and isn’t man going to be with the one he loves in the Aakhirah, according to a hadeeth?

 Alhamdulillaah, thanks to the furqaan of the Qur’aan, I realize that there is an element of wishful thinking in all this, and that being associated with someone muttaqee – no matter how close the bond or relation – will NOT save me from the consequences of my sins. It says in the Qur’aan: “No bearer of burdens will bear the burden of another.” And of course we have the examples of family members of the Prophets, whose relationships did not avail them: Nooh’s son, Ibraaheem’s father, Loot’s wife, and even Abu Taalib, the uncle of the Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.).   

 To save myself, I must do my own good deeds (with sincerity) and earn my own reward (through the mercy of Allaah). It’s as simple as that. 

 To save my family, I must convey the Message with sincerity and with persistence, and also pray for them. May Allaah give me the tawfeeq and hikmah to do so. 

A Student of the Quran
 
As this question was read out to us, I was thinking it would be something else. I thought that the question would be along the lines of “now that I am a practicing Muslim, but my friends and family are not…” I think this train of thought has shown me that I may be “practicing” in many things, but I have a long way to go. 
 
We repeatedly learn in the Quran that being born a Muslim, or being associated with a pious person is not enough to save us. In Surah Hud, ayah 46, Allah says to Nuh (AS) “Yaa Noohu innahoo laysa min ahlika innahoo amalun ghayru saalihin…” O Nuh, indeed he is not your family; indeed he is (one whose) work was other than righteous…”  This tells us that upon doing unrighteous acts, ties with our blood family break. If a Prophet cannot save his son, then expecting my friends and family to save me in front of Allah is foolish.

To save myself I need to bring myself closer to Allah by doing things that please Him. Obligatory acts are compulsory to attain Allah’s pleasure, but this is not enough. After obligatory acts, I need to be thinking about where I can do extra acts of good. By following Allah’s command, I can, insha’Allah, save myself on the Day of Judgment. 
 
To save my family and friends is another matter entirely. I am aware that to save myself I must do certain things, and I still find it difficult to do them. Sometimes I don’t even manage to do them. I supposedly have ilm of deen, and yet I still can’t manage these acts, so how can my family and friends do these acts when they don’t necessarily have ilm. I won’t be able to save them on the Day of Judgment, but I can help them to save themselves, by sharing my knowledge with them, asking them to share in the deeds that I do, and guiding them along the path that I am trying to follow.

A Student of the Quran

My friends and family CAN NOT save me on the Day of Judgment, if they are practicing muslims and I am not. For them are their deeds and me are mines. They will not be held accountable for what I do and I won’t be held accountable for what they do.  Mesengers could not save their families who did not believe , so its not possible for me to be saved because my family and friends practice.
In order to save myself I must believe in the Final Message and rush towards all acts of righteousness that can save me in the Hereafter. I should hold onto the Quran and Sunnah and act according to its teachings.
In order to save my family, I must convey the message to them. I should enjoin them to do what’s good and forbid them from doing what’s wrong. I shouldn’t just keep the message to myself but be well-wishing and convey it to others.

A Student of the Quran

My mom’s side of the family is more practicing than my father’s side of the family. Unfortunately for me, I was more attracted by the glitter of the latter and was more inclined towards it. I married into my dad’s side of the family out of choice. I made a decision. I soon realized that I was headed in a direction that is not helping me but when I started practicing I found a lot of resistance. A new relationship, a new understanding of deen – both were hard to tackle at an age of 19. Shaitan’s hold was strong and again I fell for the duniya.

But Allah knows best that humans err and I erred. I realize that the world cannot save me from my own accountability and I need to ask Allah alone.  I thank Allah every single day for giving me the taufeeq to study the Qur’an that I did not deserve. Now alhumdulillah, when I was considered the most liberal in my family, I am now considered the most fanatic!

Now the task for me is to save my family. When one starts studying the Qur’an, hikmah doesn’t come packaged in the studies as a free gift. I realize it comes over time. The study of the Qur’an has taught me several concepts including the effect of tarbiyah, tazkiyah being gradual. The Qur’an talks about ujlah, all of which are manifested in individual behavior. The Qur’an gives the ability to recognize that. In light of this, I now can gather that I cannot immediately save my family or myself. Allah has to give me hikmah to help gradually change my environment according to how Allah SWT wants us to live. Allah has to give people around me the taufeeq to realize the importance of what Allah has made me realize. I have to make a lot of dua for myself and for my family. I need a lot of sabr to wait until my family comes around.  I pray for istiqamah for my journey in this beautiful realm of existence.

Safia Kemal

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

