Reflecting on Surah Hud:84-101


He (Shu’ayb) said: ‘O my people! Have you considered if I am upon clear evidence from my Lord and He has provided me with a good provision from Him? And I do not intend to differ from you in that which I have forbidden you; I only intend reform as much as I am able…’[11: 88]

 Once I learn about halaal and haraam, and I share this information with others, do I practice what I preach? How much impact will my advice have if I myself do not follow it? List a few commands which you know about but do not fully implement in your life.

When we preach something to others, we become doubly accountable of whether we implement it or not. I try to practice what I preach. Sometimes I try to act smart by not preaching something at all, even though I know fully well its importance, only because I myself am not practicing it fully.

 Sometimes if I have to convey halaal and haraam, and I haven’t been able to practice it fully myself, I just convey it saying “this is how it should be (according to Sharee’ah)”, absolving myself of any perfection they may be expecting from me and implying that this hukm is for myself included.

 A few things which I know about but do not fully implement in my life:

– Doing ihsaan (utmost good) with my parents

– Doing ihsaan rather than taking revenge and exceeding (to which I get a response similar to that given to Shu’ayb ’alayhis salaam – “Does your prayer command that we do this…? Indeed, you are the forbearing, the right-minded!”)

– Making the best use of my youth, health and free time

– Fulfilling amaanaat (commitments)

– Being a giver

– Establishing prayer PERFECTLY

– Small sunnats like drinking while sitting, sleeping on my right side

– Reciting morning and evening du’aas

– Reciting the Qur’aan at Fajr time

– Tahajjud

And many more…

A Student of the Quran

A message preached and if not practiced yourself absolutely has NO effect. If you tell a child not to do a certain thing, and then you do it yourself, the child will be honest enough to tell you the truth: You told me to do this, “but you’re not doing it yourself?” An adult, however, will see that you have preached something you do not practice yourself. They may not say anything but silently they will turn away from the message. Therefore, it is ESSENTIAL that I reform myself before I set out to reform ANYONE!

Reform, however, is not an overnight affair. There is resonance in it also for a habit that has taken years inside a person. Anger for example within me is deep rooted. Patience is a skill that needs to be continuously exercised. With Allah in mind, all those ahkam that I find difficult to implement at the moment, I know insha’Allah will resolve in time. I just have to follow my own course of not giving up the struggle to attain it through worship  and dua combined. Also with this strategy, practicing the halal becomes easier. When practicing becomes easier then the message becomes easier to understand and easier to spread.

Safia Kemal

 

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

