Reflecting on Surah Al-Hijr: 1-50


The downfall of Iblees began with his refusal to obey Allah’s command. Are there any of Allah’s commandments that I am not obeying?

The commandment to be grateful to parents and to be humble before them is one that I think I do not fulfill. I am very grateful for my mother of course, but I do not say it to her often enough, and often times I think she feels unappreciated. Also I am not always kind and humble with her, which I immediately regret afterwards.

Also, the commandment to pray on time is one that I often am unable to fulfill, but Alhamdulillah I am working towards it, now that I know the importance.

Another commandment in which I think I lag behind is to be patient. Although I think my patience has increased Alhamdulillah, it is still far from the level that it should be.

I am also not as regular in sincere istighfar and taubah as I should be.

Unfortunately, I do not do as much da’wah as I can, and sometimes allow myself to be enamored by the glamour of dunya. However, I would never ever exchange my akhira for my dunya Insha’Allah.

Sana Ahmad

Studying the Qur’an makes one more aware of the right and wrong actions. There were several things I did, I knew I needed to change but never thought of them in light of being accountable in front of Allah for them or as Allah’s commands. Now alhumdulillah, I see myself changing as the fear of Allah inculcates into my life. I make an effort of pleasing Him and for being accountable for things He is displeased about. Sometimes I am able to follow through, sometimes I fail and get influenced by shaitan’s plot.

Anger management is a key area that I need to work on. I have to consciously remind myself each time I get upset at something and lash out: this is what shaitan wants so I should fastaidh billahi mina shaitan arrajeem (Seek Allah’s protection from the accursed shaitan).

Also this arises when I stop doing tawakkul of Allah and doing sabr – both key commands Allah wants us to do.

Sometimes also some ahkam become very difficult to implement. For me for example dealing with my mother is sometimes very difficult. I have to continue to tell myself to stay calm and listen to what she is saying. But as people age, they become sometimes hard to reason with also. I pray to Allah for all the ahkam to become easy to implement in order that I please my Rabb with my actions.

All other ahkam of Allah are now clearer with the study of the Quran and may Allah give me the taufeeq to implement the Quran and Sunnah as it is meant to be implemented.

Safia Kemal

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflecting on Surah Al-Hijr: 1-50

  1. hiba says:

    Unfortunately I have the exact same problem areas! I guess it’s because of our same age group (15-25). May Allaah enable us to have control over our nafs and be constantly obedient.

Leave a Reply

