Reflecting on Surah An-Nahl: 22-40


How do I describe the Quran? Do I ever use any negative words? Have I done so in the past? How do I react if others do so?

I actually don’t think I have described the Quran. I definitely don’t use negative words for it. Alhamdulillah I haven’t done so in the past.
I just remember thinking for the Quran that its not in sequence whereas when I came across the bible like 3 years ago, everything in it was in sequence.
If others describe it using negative words I get upset and try my best to defend it and I try to clear any misconceptions regarding it.
I haven’t really been in a position in which I have actually come across people using negative words regarding the Quran, face to face. I just hope I’ll be able to defend the Quran with hikmah.

A Student of the Quran

Subhan Allah, after the learning the Qur’an, no one can say anything negative about it. Alhamdulillah I never use any negative words to describe it. When I was very young, however, I did not understand why we had to read it in Arabic, and used to wish I could read it in English. But as I grew older, I began to understand the wisdom behind it, and the importance of reading it in Arabic. I also did not want to read it, and would hide my juzz and pretend I did not know where it was. But that was very long ago, when I was around five or six. When I started to read it with the translation a couple of years later, however, it got interesting for me and I enjoyed reading it.

SubhanAllah, Allah SWT knows man better than He knows himself, and the fact that people called the Quran ‘tales of the ancient’ is a fact that still exists today. The nature of man does not change. Today, people say that some commandments of the Qur’an are not applicable today (na’uzubillah). How is that possible? Allah has knowledge of everything, past present and future! So when He says it is for all times and then has given some commandments, how can they be limited to any time, or for that matter, to any place?!!

Of course , it offends me when someone accuses the Qur’an of something negative, and it feels like they are accusing a friend ,a friend which has been there for me, which makes me feel better when I am upset, which can help us all secure a good home in akhira. Most importantly, it is the word of the Being Who Created us, and then gave us all these blessings. The Being Who is closer to us than we are to ourselves. And all He wants in return is for us to believe in Him, and worship Him.

The Qur’an is a beautiful book, in the way it sounds, in the way it is written as well as its meaning. It hurts me not only when people criticize it, but also when they put  it on their shelves, and do not bother to even open and read it, and allow it to spill its treasures into their lives.

Sana Ahamd

In all honesty, Quran wasn’t an important aspect of my life. I guess the simple reason was the fact that I read it, I had finished it several times, but never understood the language of the Quran. So it never penetrated in the truer sense. As I go through the Qur’an each line by line, I realize that this is the best book ever. There is nothing in the Qur’an that is not true – that is not haq. There is nothing in the Qur’an that cannot be better explained than what Allah has already done. Qur’an is a step to understand our role, our mission and most of all, our Creator.

Sometimes, Shaitan puts ideas in my heart saying: you’re studying the Qur’an, it is the Qur’an that is making you live in complete isolation where you don’t have time to spend with your family or you are being tied in and changing your ways while others are living their happy lives. The world is also equally important. Others around you convince you of the same. With the Qur’an, my husband’s and my directions have changed, and Shaitan wants to tell me it is the Qur’an which has done this so I should leave it. And I have to stop myself in giving in to these negative thoughts about what the study of the Quran is doing. That which is the best can never be a source of negativity. I will not use negative words or have negative thoughts about the Qur’an. I have to understand the positives of the Qur’an and this will help remove all doubts. It is the Qur’an that is actually making me realize what I really should be doing and when it is implemented in the truest sense, all things tie in place.

Before I had studied the Qur’an, those who used negative words about the Qur’an or had their own misconceptions about it, I got very upset and angry. These emotions were not of much use. Because I wasn’t able to convey my thoughts or convince them to understand the Quran. I didn’t know it myself to defend it. Alhumdulillah, now if someone is using negative words about the Quran or misquoting something that I have covered in class and have knowledge of, I can find a way to help remove their negative reactions or at least present a case where they positively think about the text as a word of Allah.

Safia Kemal

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflecting on Surah An-Nahl: 22-40

  1. sana says:

    Assalam o alikum
    The Quran reveals it’s miracles slowly ,but perfectly. You have to be devoted,and patient, because you might not understand all of it once. But it comes to you eventually, and you might find situations where you have to apply what you have learnt. Alhamdolillah!
    wa’asalam

Leave a Reply

