Reflecting on Surah Al-Isra:78-93


How long is my recitation in Fajar salah?Do I recite the Quran everyday?What can I do to help develop this habit?

When I found out sometime ago that the Prophet SAW used to read very long surahs in Fajar salah, I started to read long surahs as well, although I was not regular about it. I also used to recite the Quran after Fajar regularly, which, unfortunately I left. Alhamdulillah after reading these ayahs I have begun both things again. Ramadan is such a great month to practice these things, and I hope this habit will continue after Ramadan Insha’Allah. I think its important to make du’a to Allah to help us be regular in recitation , as well some practical things such as sleeping on time, doing wudhou properly in the morning so that we are not half asleep.

Sana Ahmad

 These reflection questions truly help me get a good insight of my life with regards to all that is mentioned in the Qur’an. Also they give the motivation to actually fight shaitan and go ahead and follow the ahkam for the sake of Allah (SWT) no matter how tired or sleepy you may feel in terms of salah especially at fajr. We read the ayahs of how essential it is to remember Rabb

Waothkur rabbaka fee nafsika tadarruAAan wakheefatan wadoona aljahri mina alqawli bialghuduwwi waal-asali wala takun mina alghafileena – 7: 205

Fajr is a tough time for me with a small child who wakes up at fajr. He is an alarm but then he wants the attention, so the adkhar and reciting of the Qur’an is a jihad at that time. But the above ayah and the ones we learnt on the virtue of reciting Quran in the fajr salah are motivating to bring about a change inshallah. If angels witness the recitation-  what more motivation do we really need.

My fajr salah itself is not so long for the limited short surahs that I know. I need to learn more Quran to be able to recite longer surahs. Inshallah this is an on-going effort which maybe I need to do more aggressively than passively.

I realize this is an active conscious approach and fighting  with  shaitan who is singing all kinds of lullabys to  put you back to bed without even a word of Quran in the morning.

Tried and tested and verified by all who have done this – the day goes much better after the early morning recitation of Quran!

Safia Kemal

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

