Reflecting on Surah Al-Isra:94-111


Have I increased in humility since my journey for studying the Quran began? Why or why not?
  Since my journey for studying the Quran began I have increased in humility. I realize now that I am nothing. What I am and I have are all by the grace of Allah (S.W.T.). I do weep when reading the Quran and when I think of the blessings that My Rabb has bestowed upon me and especially when I think about how Merciful He is. I have increased in humility but I think I need to be even more humble.
I may not weep so often for my sins. When reading about different commands I may not submit instantly. I have increased in fearing Allah but there are times when my actions don’t prove it. 
    When it comes to being humble in my posture or being humble around people, I try my best not to walk or seem arrogant. I’m definitively no better than anyone. So I have no right to walk arrogantly on the earth or to be arrogant around people. Alhamdulillah I’ve increased a lot in being humble around people out of fear and for the sake of Allah. However, there’s always room for improvement so I need to work harder.

A Student of the Quran

We are reminded repeatedly in the Quran that those with taqwa are humble. We have to keep a constant check on ourselves to avoid becoming arrogant, as Allah despises arrogance.

Alhamdulillah the reminders are there for us in the Quran lest we forget. Since starting this course, I think a lot of the time I consider myself more knowledgeable than others about issues of deen, and sometimes I’m surprised to find out that the other person actually knows more than me. It is wrong to assume that everyone other than us does not read or try to understand the Quran, it is in fact important to many people.

     No one is closer to Allah based on the clothes they wear, or the color of their skin, or the wealth they possess, as ‘qurb’ with Allah is attained through taqwa.Therefore, there should not be any arrogance regarding one’s physical attributes, rather there should be gratitude if one possesses such favours.Allah knows best with what body, face and social standing we will be most likely to be good Muslims.

    Also, upon discovering a mistake of someone thinking that we are better than them is also incorrect, because we do not know how close that person is to Allah, and how much they repent, or perhaps it actually WAS an accident, and we are certainly not fully aware of our own faults. I have to keep reminding myself that no one but Allah knows the reality of what is in the hearts. Even if someone seems like they are not a good Muslim, it may be that in the future they will become much better Muslims than us. We also do not know which of our deeds are being accepted and which are not. Also it is our duty to inform someone if we have knowledge of something good, rather than judge them. It is possible that they are not aware, as once we were not, and that on the Day of Judgment they point the finger at us for not guiding them despite having knowledge.

   The most important kind of humility to have is humility before Allah, His Might, His Greatness, especially in salah, and to fear Him as He should be feared. I do not think I fear Him as I should, but as we read more and more of the Quran, we understand better His Greatness, and are able to recognize His signs all around us, which helps us develop not only fear of His anger, but also a passion to gain His love.

Sana Ahmad

 13 Juz done for me, and alhumdulillah I can sense the change within myself. Humility is an important part of deen. What has actually brought about humility is the realization that man is actually nothing infront of Allah SWT. Also that Allah SWT knows us so well, reading Quran is like someone showing you the mirror. When we live in a world of delusion where we feel we are it. Man compares himself to another man and feels great and above and eventually an element of arrogance creeps is. We walk tall on earth and even stomp our feet in vain. But when we read the Quran, it actually brings us back to our position and humility is an outcome of that.

My goal is to remember this humility at all times in all my dealings. Even sentences when they start with an I did this, or Me lead to attributing all goodness to ones ownself. If we begin sentences with Allah gave me the taufeeq to, or even alhumdulillah, it becomes very clear that we are really not incharge for much. Even the slightest thought of feeling above anyone leads to a deviation and sometimes even further where shaitan wants you to be to slip. So it is best to remind yourself every step of the way, we are the servants of Allah and Allahuakbar.

Safia Kemal

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

