Reflecting on Surah Kahf:27-44


“Who are my friends? Do they remind me of Allah or do they take me away from His remembrance?”

I have mixed friends : those who remind me of Allah , those who take me away from His remembrance and those who are neutral. My friends who remind me of Allah are those who I meet during class. These days, mostly my interaction is with them. Alhamdulillah they do remind me of Allah and I feel comfortable around being such a righteous company.
I have a non-muslim friend , though I rarely spend time with her .However,when I do I notice that I’m far away from the remembrance of Allah .
Then there are friends who are neutral. I guess they may be those whom we may connect to Allah.
I remember I used to work in two different places : an Islamic school and a retail store with non-muslims around. I noticed when I was an Islamic school my emaan kept growing and felt comfortable being around such a good company. I felt the complete opposite when I was working at the retail store. As there was no fear of Allah, people would say anything . I felt my emaan going down in this environment.
I do desire righteous friends. They connect us more with Allah, remind us of Him and teach us things we may not know.

A Student of the Quran

For most part of my life, I have been an independent person. I did not make a whole lot of friends. People thought I am head strong and rebellious in both the family and friends. Over the years I have a selected group of friends but they are very close to me and very connected – to the extent that whenever I have gone through a major set back in my life whether it be even a major sickness, they have out of the blue been worried for me and called me. Alhumdulillah for such friendships.

I was the first in my circle of friends to start covering my head with a dupatta. And I guess I never really realized the significance of it, but everyone around me thought I was very much inclined to deen. (Of course now I lacked the basic understanding of the Quran and I have yet to understand and learn of it!) So somehow with this aspect, the mention of Allah came into the conversation amongst my friends.

Alhumdulillah now most of my friends who were good girls are now inclined towards deen so our discussions are more deen oriented instead of gossip or world oriented. It is amazing how Allah helps and supports and guides. Also, in any gathering or amongst friends, we are either part of the bandwagon (agreeing to everything that is being said whether it be gossip or waste of time), or we can use this opportunity to impart some valuable knowledge about Quran and Sunnah that we know of. The latter being a better choice.

So just as one is influenced by friends, one is always in a position to influence also. That choice is left up to us. We begin by practicing the way of Islam first and then begin sharing it with our friends to remind them. Once the interest is inculcated, the focus changes.

Safia Kemal

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

