Reflecting on Surah Kahf:100-110


The last ayah of Surah Kahf has a poignant lesson. What are the other lessons from Surah Kahf? Do I recite it every Friday?

Surah Kahf is a beautiful Surah mashAllah. There are so many lessons in it.
Some of the lessons I’ve learnt so far include:

A) From the young companions of the cave: You should always stand up for the truth, even if you fear retaliation, and are fewer in number than your enemies. One can never lose as long as one has Allah SWT on their side. Also, good companionship is very important. It is important to keep good friends around you who are your sincere well wishers and encourage you to do good, and at the same time it is important to be such a friend to them. We also learn of the miracle of resurrection, and just as the companions of the cave were awoken after three hundred years, so will we be brought to life after our worldly death on the Day of Judgment.

B) From the example of the two men: Allah SWT describes the garden in such beautiful details, that one can almost imagine how beautiful they must have been. We learn from this story that our possessions are neither a reason, nor a sign of Allah SWT’s love for us. The person who has more taqwa is closer to Allah. When I was studying sociology, we learnt about the Protestant ethic, the very foundation of which is, if you have more wealth, it means God has favored you, so work harder to earn more, as this will mean He loves you more. According to this view point, a person would become completely immersed in earning wealth thinking that it is the love of God they are earning, whereas Allah has told us already that He has already written our rizq, and He has favored some over others. The regret of the man at the end when his gardens are destroyed is very moving. Allah SWT reminds us the children and wealth are only adornment for this world.

C) From the story of Musa As and Khidr As: This is probably my favorite story in surah Kahf,as well the accompanying hadith where the story is described in a little more detail. The lesson to learn here is that sometimes it may seem like everything is going wrong, but the wisdom and mercy of Allah is far beyond our understanding. I have experienced this first hand several times. Human beings, however, are impatient and wish for all their desires to be fulfilled immediately. At times Allah does not give us what we want because the time is not right. Human beings are also ungrateful, so that if we get what we were asking for at some later time, we don’t value or appreciate it.

   We also learn that it is not befitting for humans to become arrogant, regarding anything, including knowledge, because as Allah states in the Quran, above every knowledgeable person there is another one with more knowledge.

We also learn a little bit about a student teacher relationship. The one who is teaching deserves respect from the student, as they are doing a favor to the student. The student should be patient and follow the instructions of the teacher. Of course Musa(As) was a better student than any of us can ever be, as He (As) had such a sincere desire to learn, and a great amount of Taqwa.

D) From the story of Dhul Qarnain: We learn that it is important to remember when we are in any position of importance, that is not only a blessing and mercy from Allah ,but it is also a test. It is essential to offer our duties in the most ahsan manner. It is also important to remember, that if we are in a position of authority, we must treat those under us with respect, and according to their abilities. We cannot treat everyone the same, because every one is not the same. These are the qualities of a good leader; they know how to manage individuals as well as groups. 

  Also Dhul Qarnain was relentless, and not at all complacent, even upon gaining victory after victory. He attributed it all to Allah, and did it for him alone.

 Other than this we learn that it is important, when doing dawah, to remind people that we are like them, we are not supreme beings, in fact we are ordinary people, and we only wish to invite them to the truth.

LESSONS ABOUT A STUDENT TEACHER RELATIONSHIP

From the story about Musa (as) and Khidr (as) we learn:

  • That a student must have patience if he or she wishes to be a good student
  •  The teacher must have patience with the student; overlook their faults etc, if he or she wishes to be a good teacher
  • The teacher is doing the student a favor, not the other way around. Therefore the student should recognize this favor and be grateful.
  • The student must be humble in front of  the teacher.
  • The teacher must be humble in front  of Allah.
  • The student should be tranquil, and at peace with what the teacher is teaching, with her/his method of teaching. If she/he does not like the method etc, than she/he is allowed to make a humble request.
  • The teacher should recognize that sometimes the student may have more ‘ilm’ about some things than the teacher, and both can learn from each other.
  • The student should not raise objections to the teacher constantly.
  • The student should not ask irrelevant questions and waste both the teacher and her/his own time.
  • The teacher should give the student opportunity to question, but the student should understand the importance of questioning at the right time.

Sana Ahmad

From the day I started class , I couldn’t wait to begin Surah Kahaf. I had been reciting it every Friday but I didn’t know the word to word translation and I hadn’t done the tafseer of the Surah  either.
Alhamdulillah now when I recite Surah Kahaf I understand what I’m reciting and I can relate to what’s going on. I’ve also learnt a lot of lessons from this Surah :
People of the Cave : From the story of the people of the cave, I’ve learnt that we should always stand up for the what’s right, especially the deen of Allah. It doesn’t matter how much opposition we may face or how few our numbers may seem , as long as we have Allah (S.W.T.) on our side, nothing else matters.
I’ve learnt that getting up from a bad company is also a form of hijrah. I’ve also learnt that if I sacrifice and struggle utmost , Allah promises hidaya for me. If we sacrifice for the sake of Allah, we should never forget that all provisions are in His hand and He will provide for us.
From the example of the Ashaab-ul-Kahaf I learn that when I’m given the options of rebelling against people or adapting gentleness , I should adapt the quality of gentleness. In any situation  that I am in I should adapt gentleness.
One of the most important lessons I’ve learnt is to “Be Careful”. I may have reached the Nisf of the Quran and may have learnt a lot of things but even then I should be careful : in my dealings and in every matter.  
From Verses 27-31: I learn from these verses the importance of staying in the company of righteous people. Instead of being distracted by the glitter and glamour of the dunya, I should find contentment in the remembrance of Allah.
The Owner of the Two Gardens : From this story I learn never to be boastful. If I have something it’s only because of the Izn of Allah. He may give it whenever He wills and He may take it away from me whenever He wills. If something I have pleases me I should always remember Allah saying : “MashAllahu La Hawla Wala Quwata illa billah”. I should also say the same if I see someone having any good.
I learn that I  should never  at any moment feel arrogant because of the blessings that Allah has bestowed upon me. This should only increase me in humbleness. I should also use these blessings to please Allah.
Khidr and Musa (A.S.): I learnt from this story that no one can have enough knowledge and throughout our lives we shall always remain students. With acquiring knowledge one requires to struggle a lot and one needs to be patient. This story teaches me as a student, how I should interact with my teacher and the importance of avoiding asking too much questions. I learn a very important lesson from the advice that Khidr gives to Musa (A.S.) “Acquire knowledge not with the intention of declaring it to people but rather with the intention of implementing it yourself.”
Dhul Qurnain: I learn from the story of Dhul Qurnain that with power and authority comes great responsibility. One is required to use their authority justly and in a way that he or she can please Allah. Every mean that we have should be used a way beneficial for ourselves and those around us. For everything we do for Allah’s sake , we should expect a reward for it from Allah and shouldn’t make the benefits of the dunya a focus for any work done for Allah. I learn from this story that at times we are required to go out and see if people need help and not expect people to come to us.
I learn to never for once thing that I’ve done enough in terms of my deen and dunya : I should strive to do even more.
Last ten verses of Surah Kahaf: From these verses I learn the importance of doing righteous good deeds and not to make them null and void by reminding people of favors and by showing off. These verses remind me to have the right intentions before and during the time I do any good deed. I shouldn’t expect praises from people on doing good but should be concerned about gaining Allah’s pleasure.

A Student of the Quran

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflecting on Surah Kahf:100-110

  1. s. haq says:

    This is a very beautiful collection of reflections and lessons one learns from the surah. the best thing bout them is that we can relate to them on an individual level.

Leave a Reply

