Reflecting on Surah Anbiya:1-29


How often do I zone out or daydream during class and how can I keep myself focused?

 After being assigned this question, I tried analyzing how much attention I was paying during class, . I noticed that I would daydream A LOT when I would be in school. However with the Quran its different, it may be because the Quran has that affect in it, that makes you focus, or if its because I have to write down the whole time. I think it’s the former. Alhamdulillah I do concentrate, however I lose focus mainly during word analysis. I’ve noticed that its during that particular time I zone out and Astagfirullah I start feeling sleepy. During tafseer, I am much more focused.
    I actually was taking notice of the fact, like a couple of times, how I tend to be more focused in the Quran class than I was in school. I used to daydream a lot in school. So much that I would just be writing down what the teacher would say and then understanding what we did in class once I would be at home. I guess being interested in what we’re studying is a huge determining factor. The more interested we are, the more we’ll be able to focus.
   In order to keep myself focused I need to remember that I am studying the Kalaam of Allah and that in it is reward and benefit for me. Even during word analysis I should remember that I’m analyzing that word which if I recite, I’ll be rewarded ten times for.
I should also get enough sleep. That’s one of the greatest ways to focus in class and not zone out.
Other things which I can do are : miswaak before coming to class,  making dua and istaghfar. 
I should also remember the first command that Allah (S.W.T.) gave to Musa (A.S.) : “Listen Attentively.”
That is a command that applies to all of us , when studying the Quran. I should keep in mind that that is a hukm that Allah (S.W.T) is also giving me for when I am studying the Quran.
Following all this can insha’Allah ensure that I remain better and more focused in class.

 A Student of the Quran

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

