Reflecting on Surah Anbiya:30-50


When am I Hasty? How can I curb my haste? What are the demands of patience and calmness at that time?

Haste has been my middle name and I am learning that haste or a thoughtless decision (which I would categorize as haste also) demands consequences sometimes leading to irreversible damage. Haste is in reactions also and also in the use of tongue.

Only the study of the Quran has given me patience and an appreciation of it also for Allah’s sake. How have I slowly been able to curb my haste and still need to continue to work on? When I need to say something aloud in reaction to something, I kind of now say it under my breath inaudibly or sometimes even I open my mouth to say something but choose not to let the words come out! Or if I feel too pressured about circumstances, I want to quickly open up the Quran and just sit and read. The demands of patience and calmness is a non-reactive attitude. Now ever since my focus is learning the Quran and concentrating on my salah and be conscious of adhkar, I realize my need to react to situation is redirected on most part. Since the overall goal is now different, the small things which would have triggered a very big reaction and usually negative one.

But undoing a practice of so many years takes time and more struggle. Slowly inshallah with time and with the completion of the Quran this practice of realizing haste in everyday life will be more ingrained.

A Student of the Quran

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

