Reflecting on Surah Hajj:38-64


Is there anything of the Sunnah that I knowingly deny?

I used to be lazy (and still am sometimes) to follow the Sunnah of performing wudu before sleeping. I would just tell myself I’ll do it tomorrow or it doesn’t really matter that I’m leaving it and mostly I‘m just too lazy to do it. However I forget that there is reward attached to every Sunnah that I follow and on the Day of Regret, I will be extremely regretful for not having done good every time I was able to.
Just reminding myself this makes me rush to do that good and not leave it out. Similarly I’ll leave out making dua at night. I used to be regular in doing this but recently I have been extremely irregular. I guess one good act leads to another. When I perform wudu before sleeping, I feel like I’ve purified myself and, as a result, I remember to say my duas.
I also sometimes am kind of lazy to do miswaak. When I remember that my salam will be rewarded about 8 times more if I do miswaak I rush to do it.
Other things I may not follow regularly are the Sunnah such as leaving what I’m doing when I hear the adhaan and rushing towards salah. I’ll know that this is a Sunnah and its beloved to Allah but I knowingly deny this Sunnah.
One Sunnah which I deny and I think a lot of people deny these days is sleeping early especially after performing isha salah. These days if someone were to sleep so early, people would look at it as if it were some abnormal thing to do. We forget that it’s the Sunnah of Rasool Allah (SAW). In fact, this is the time which we sometimes look most forward to : in terms of chatting with others, wasting our time etc.
I think laziness is a huge factor that prevents us from following the Sunnah, so we must make dua to Allah for protection from this.
Whenever we deny any Sunnah, I think we should remind ourselves of the khair and reward that comes with it. That will instantly make us haste towards doing that good deed.

A Student of the Quran

Our whole life can be acts of Sunnah, but unfortunately we don’t try to find out details of how our Prophet (saw) lived, or are just too lazy to read, learn or recite masnoon duas. Sometimes we are influenced by people and culture and don’t think it is cool to follow the acts done, liked and approved by our Prophet.

I think it is unfortunate that I don’t love my Prophet saw as much as I should. Otherwise I wouldn’t be so careless to leave all the Masnoon acts that could help me attain Jannah. If I only try to think and remind myself everyday of all the sacrifices that my Rasool made for me and make him my true ideal, then only I can attain true fouz or success Inshallah.

Sunnahs that I would like to inculcate daily in my life include:

Wake up dua

  • Dua before entering the bathroom
  • Dua after exiting the bathroom
  • Dua for putting on my clothes
  • Dua for going outside the house
  • Dua for embarking on a journey
  • Dua when I reach my destination
  • Masnoon etiquettes while eating and drinking water
  • Masnoon way of cutting my nails
  • Try to follow the Prophet (saw)’s manners and personality

Uzma Jawed


About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

