Do I have the qualities of the people of Jannah?


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

A Student of the Qur’an

قَدْ أَفْلَحَ الْمُؤْمِنُونَ 1

الَّذِينَ هُمْ فِي صَلَاتِهِمْ خَاشِعُونَ 2

وَالَّذِينَ هُمْ عَنِ اللَّغْوِ مُعْرِضُونَ 3

وَالَّذِينَ هُمْ لِلزَّكَاةِ فَاعِلُونَ 4

وَالَّذِينَ هُمْ لِفُرُوجِهِمْ حَافِظُونَ 5

إِلَّا عَلَى أَزْوَاجِهِمْ أوْ مَا مَلَكَتْ أَيْمَانُهُمْ فَإِنَّهُمْ غَيْرُ مَلُومِينَ 6

فَمَنِ ابْتَغَى وَرَاء ذَلِكَ فَأُوْلَئِكَ هُمُ الْعَادُونَ 7

وَالَّذِينَ هُمْ لِأَمَانَاتِهِمْ وَعَهْدِهِمْ رَاعُونَ 8

وَالَّذِينَ هُمْ عَلَى صَلَوَاتِهِمْ يُحَافِظُونَ 9

أُوْلَئِكَ هُمُ الْوَارِثُونَ 10

الَّذِينَ يَرِثُونَ الْفِرْدَوْسَ هُمْ فِيهَا خَالِدُونَ 11

“Certainly will the believers have succeeded: 1
They who are during their prayer humbly submissive 2
And they who turn away from ill speech 3
And they who are observant of zakah 4
And they who guard their private parts 5
Except from their wives or those their right hands possess, for indeed, they will not be blamed – 6
But whoever seeks beyond that, then those are the transgressors -7
And they who are to their trusts and their promises attentive  8
And they who carefully maintain their prayers –9
Those are the inheritors 10
Who will inherit al-Firdaus. They will abide therein eternally 11.”
[Al-Quran-Surah Al-Mu’minun:1-11]

Not enough I’d say. Coming to the Qur’an class and listening and being with people who are listening and want to do amal makes me a better person those three days and even the fourth. But consistency is a must. I wouldn’t say that I’m humbly submissive with all my prayers, some yes, but not all and not even everyday. Something is always going on in my head. Do I turn away from ill speech? Then again not all the time. My prime causes when not turning away is when a part of me is agreeing with what the other is saying and when I’m scared of the others reaction. These are mostly the reasons.

Then there are times when I’m angry and say something out of anger, something critical. I’m being stricter with myself though. Alhamdullilah, I am observant of my Zakat (giving alms), but purification of negative thoughts is something I have to work on extensively. Alhamdullilah I have started  wearing the Islamic Hijab(outer covering). Surah Al-Mu’minun was defnitely an eye-opener to the importance of trusts and promises.While mailing I just remebered that one of our trusts that Maryam Baji had highlighted was that if we didnot come to class due to certain circumstances we should always notify. I didn’t do that today although I meant to. I apologize and remind myself that I was saying that I was very good with trusts and promises but I did violate a trust therefore I must be heedful at all times and pray to Allah ( سبحانه وتعالى ) that I shouldn’t violate a trust even if its unknowingly done. Most of the time I am careful about maintaining my prayers but Fajr is very hard for me.


About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Media Presentations, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do I have the qualities of the people of Jannah?

  1. Safia Kemal says:

    In the quest of understanding yourself in light of the Qur’an, and then reforming yourself, the prime requirement is honesty to thyself. This reflection is a depiction of how one can be sincere to oneself by speaking the truth. If you are sincere to yourself, you have achieved much more than you know it!

Leave a Reply

