Reflecting on Surah Hajj:65-78


What is the core of my identity? Do I identify myself as a Muslim first? Why or why not?

In the society that we live a lot of preference is given to cast. Most of the problems arising today are because we identify ourselves as belonging to a certain caste, political party, country etc. We forget that before all this there is a common binding factor amongst all of us and that is “Islam.”
Alhamdulillah I do identify myself as a Muslim first. I was born a Muslim first and then into whatever race or nationality that I am. Islam comes before everything else. We need to raise our future generations instilling in them the concept that Islamic is what unites us and that we shouldn’t discriminate in terms of race , color or caste. InshAllah if we start doing this we can help overcome most of the problems that arise amongst us in our country.

A Student of the Quran

My core identity should be of a true momin, a Muslim that obeys the One True Rabb. However, life intercedes and makes me give my other identities precedence over my true identity of being a Muslim.

My name, family name, ethnic background, countries that I reside in, whom I am married to, my children, my parents, my siblings, slowly form my identity. As these are the identities one is often asked in conversations, for schools, for visas, and all other life activities, one works very hard at these ‘worldly’ identities and makes sure one attends the right schools, and marries the ‘right’ person. However, in the process one forgets to work hard at the only true identity that matters in front of my Rabb.

Uzma Jawed


About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

