Who are my friends?


Surah Al-Furqan: 21-34

Who are my friends? Do my friends take me closer to
the obedience of Allah or farther away?

by Safia Kemal

I do not make close friends with a whole lot of people. I have a few, maybe two or three very close friends. For me, life and those involved had to be fun (within limits of deen) yet heedless of akhirah. “Kosher fun” as it is so widely called.

With the influence of religion prior to this course when I started covering my head, I let go of several vices, and my friends thought I had completely changed. Only my true friends accepted the change and we stayed in touch. Living abroad, I made one very close friend whom I still talk to regularly.

As the person I am, I am still a dominating personality which actually helped me stay the course of covering my head in an environment where I was the only one doing so , but alhumdulillah I was now sharing with my closest of friends my thoughts on deen. Just because of the head covering, they thought I was so religious. I realize now that religion is not merely feeling good because you only cover yourself and read salah; religion begins at the level of the heart and branches out from there thereby affecting each and every action. It is about understanding the furqan given and to be able to follow it. Allah knows best who is more religious than the other.

With this recognition now of course the conversation with my closest of friends has changed. Allah has also helped my friends come to deen. A friend of mine now attends the tafseer class and it is amazing when we sit down to chat, we are usually sharing our notes and thoughts from the class. Our friendship have now changed for Allah’s sake which is the correct approach of things ie. To love, to not love, to befriend all for Allah’s sake. This other friend of mine has already completed her Qur’an course and teaches it. This other friend of mine has been listening to Dr. Israr Ahmed’s tafsir. I see Allah helping me keep my friends and also helping us connect through a better means of friendship, alhumdulillah.  I have also found new friends in deen I connect with. I see the importance of keeping good friends with examples presented throughout Qur’an including Surah Kahf and the hadith.

by A Student of the Quran

I have different kinds of friends: very few take me farther from Allah, some don’t take me farther nor closer (these are those whom I try to bring closer to Allah) and there are friends who do take me closer to Allah.
Its very important who we chose as our friends. We should increase in our interactions with those whom are close to Allah : so that we meet and depart for the sake of Allah.


About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

