Reflecting on Surah Ash-Shu’ara:105-140


When I convey Allah‘s message to others do I expect reward or gratitude? From whom should I expect this? How can I purify my intentions for Allah alone?

When conveying Allah’s message to people I don’t expect reward or gratitude from people. The intention of conveying Allah’s message should solely be  for Allah’s sake: expecting reward from none but Him.
However I do deep down in my heart sometimes expect to hear praise from people. This happens rarely. Mostly the reason I convey Allah’s message is because with blessing comes responsibility and no doubt I will be questioned about whether I conveyed what I learnt or not. Another reason I convey it is that so I can get reward for it in the akhirah.
A way I can purify my intentions for Allah alone is through constant reminder that it is only from Allah whom I can expect and hope for reward and I should also keep in mind the response of all the Prophets when they conveyed the message to their people: “And I do not ask you for it any payment. My payment is only from the Lord of the worlds.”
I should convey the message by keeping the Prophets as role models.

A Student of the Quran


About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

