Purifying Intentions


Safia Kemal

26:109

“And I do not ask you for it any payment. My payment is only from the Lord of the worlds.” (Al-Quran, Surah Ash-Shu’ara: 109)

Going through the Qur’an has made me realize that I needed to study the Qur’an to help make me a better person, to help remove the negatives within me and help me live a better life. The concept of expectations has been a basic problem for me. I expect from others. The cycle of expectation is generally a sad one, because you expect a thing and when a thing doesn’t happen, you get disappointed and it is not over just yet. The disappointment leads to frustration, holding grudges, complain, ill-feeling and chaos all around you.

Hence, studying the Qur’an has made me exist in another realm, one that makes a more content, satisfied individual, alhumdulillah. First of all, my expectations are redirected to Allah and additionally my niyyah has changed in the doing of things.

Whenever I do start to expect and it could be a very normal expectation and not any extraordinary one as in I would like the other to get me the moon or the stars. I think of basic concepts that I have learned and that helps me just keep quiet and redirect my expectation towards Allah:

  • I think of Surah Anam:162 and remind myself that my existence should be for Allah alone. All things are really irrelevant and should cease to take importance.

162. say: Truly, My prayer and My service of sacrifice, My life and My death, are (all) for Allah, the Cherisher of the Worlds.

  • I think of Yaqub (AS)’s dua: Surah Yusuf:86.

86.He said: “I only complain of My distraction and anguish to Allah

  • I think Allah is Ash Shakur – The All Appreciative. Allah is Al-Baseer. I do not need people’s appreciation or their feedback, their thank-yous or their reward. I have to remember this at all times especially when I begin to feel I need to be appreciated for anything good I do, whether it be for my conveying of Qur’an to them or otherwise.
About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Purifying Intentions

  1. Zahra Haque says:

    Great reflection! Alhamdulillah the study of Quran makes one a positive person. Another important thing that one should remember is that negativities are from Shaitan.

  2. Samar says:

    The ayahs posted here should definitely be part of our daily lives to keep coming back to us as reminders. Maybe we should write them on some place we would regularly see them inshaAllah. Also, I’d learnt at class that we should mention/repeat/clarify to ourselves our niyyah before starting our work. This makes a big difference.

  3. Mariam says:

    May Allah give us the wisdom to selflessly strive towards pleasing Him. Ameen. Also some essential traits we should continously pray for and try to inculcate are humility and lots of patience!

Leave a Reply

