How can I make my long-life beneficial?


How can I make my  long-life beneficial?

Reflecting on Surah Ash-Shu’ara 192-227 by Uzma Jawed,Naheed Baluch
A long life only benefits a person if they use it  to do that which pleases Allah. How much of life has been granted to me so far? How much is left? What can I do to benefit the most? List specific goals.

Uzma Javed

I have alhamdulillah been given 28 years of a healthy, blessed life……so far.
I don’t know how much is left. It could be a second, a minute, a day, a week, a month, a year, or years……..

I need to make the MOST of this life that I have left. And I can make the most of this by:

  • Praying sincerely to my Rabb
  • Having true well-wishing for others
  • Prioritize the important things in my life, like doing Tasbeeh, reading the Qur’an, praying on time, giving Zakat, giving charity
  • Smiling a lot
  • Saying Salam a lot
  • Showing patience
  • Showing kindness to others
  • Improving my interpersonal skills
  • Live my life in accordance to the Quran and Sunnah
  • Passing on the important things to my children, my spouse, my siblings, my parents and the rest of my family.

Naheed Baluch

I have been granted a pretty long life of 28 years. I haven’t really used it enough to please Allah. I feel I could have done better. Initially I lived in ignorance and then gradually  I did become somewhat a better Muslim. In these years I regret wasting the time I wasted and the sins that I have committed.

As for how much life I have left , Allah knows best. However, I should live every day as if it’s the last. I can best use my life before death but not committing the same mistakes I did in the past and by devising a plan on what I should do and need to do before death. I should also implement this as soon as possible and not wait till I’m older or before its too late. I should also make regular dua and put in effort for implementing this plan. Without these two it won’t be possible to achieve my goals. I should also put this list up somewhere so that it  serve as a constant reminder.

Specific goals I hope to achieve before I die:
1. To memorize the whole Quran inshaAllah
2. To teach what I’ve learnt of the Quran to others
3. To try to guide at least one non-believer to Islam
4. Connect my family to Allah
5. Make the best use of everyday and not to waste it

 


About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How can I make my long-life beneficial?

  1. Mariam says:

    These reflections reminds me of what we recently learnt from ayah 45 of Surah Al Ankabut:

    “Recite, [O Muhammad], what has been revealed to you of the Book and establish prayer. Indeed, prayer prohibits immorality and wrongdoing, and the remembrance of Allah is greater. And Allah knows that which you do.”

    As students of the Quran we all need to ask ourselves ‘Has salah become my priority?’ ‘Do I worship Allah at the level of ehsan?’ ‘Do I understand and implement what I recite of the Quran?’ ‘Do I strive towards Allah’s pleasure no matter what the circumstances may be?”

Leave a Reply

