Step by Step Guide to the Right Way!


Uzma Javed

وَالَّذِينَ جَاهَدُوا فِينَا لَنَهْدِيَنَّهُمْ سُبُلَنَا وَإِنَّ اللَّهَ لَمَعَ الْمُحْسِنِينَ
“And those who strive for Us – We will surely guide them to Our ways. And indeed, Allah is with the doers of good.”
[Al-QuranSurah Al-Ankabut:69]

Allah’s (  Book, The Qur’an, is my guidance. Allah () has given me clear instructions on how I can attain Siraat al Mustaqeem. For this, I need to establish my salah, give my zakat, perform Hajjfast, always speak the truth, never betray anyone’s trust, be loyal, be steadfast, be confident about the Truth, have taqwa, be humble and have patience.

If one stops merely thinking about how to do the above mentioned things and instead goes ahead and does them, then I believe we would make lives much easier for ourselves. I think it’s time to stop thinking and to actually take some ACTION.

I should take small steps and start with setting few goals per day and then go on to bigger things. For example, when I feel like I have wasted my time  in lahw al hadith (vain talk, useless speech and activities), then I should try to make up that time by doing some extra ‘good’ work like learn a dua, spend more time on my Qur’an class homework, etc.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Step by Step Guide to the Right Way!

  1. Safia Kemal says:

    Asa, I think the taking small steps is a good approach. We all need to realize that once we are able to take these smaller steps, we will inshallah be able to take the bigger ones.

    As Allah SWT has said in the Qur’an about man being hasty in Surah Al-Anbiya:37 Man is a creature of haste. We want to jump into things and make big plans without thinking whether we can sustain it or not.

    We also see that the revealing of the Qur’an was also tarteel not all at once. There is hikmah in that.

    We all have heard the saying: Slow and steady…..wins the race 🙂 Another example is during the Olympic games, the runners doing the longer laps are told to set a pace and not exhaust their energy all in the first lap!

  2. samarhasan85 says:

    I agree, taking smaller steps is definitely the right way to go about it. I’ve always noticed that I get all charged up and feel I can do it all, but in all honesty it’s not possible – it never is. The boost goes down eventually and so do the plans and the actions.
    The first step to it all should be sincere dua and correct niyyah with the big picture of Jannah in mind.
    May Allah s.w.t. make this path easy for all of us, Ameen.

  3. Uzma says:

    Jak, Safia and Samar!

    Safia, the several references you gave definitely reinforces the concept of starting small, instead of thinking big!

    And Samar, I agree we need to constantly rectify and initiate any action with sincere intentions and duas.

Leave a Reply

