Who am I?



Uzma Jawed

وَلَمْ يَتَفَكَّرُوا فِي أَنفُسِهِمْ مَا خَلَقَ اللَّهُ السَّمَاوَاتِ وَالْأَرْضَ وَمَا بَيْنَهُمَا إِلَّا بِالْحَقِّ وَأَجَلٍ مُّسَمًّى وَإِنَّ كَثِيرًا مِّنَ النَّاسِ بِلِقَاء رَبِّهِمْ لَكَافِرُونَ

“Do they not contemplate within themselves? Allah has not created the heavens and the earth and what is between them except in truth and for a specified term. And indeed, many of the people, in [the matter of] the meeting with their Lord, are disbelievers.”
[Al-Quran-Ar-Rum:6]

Who am I?

I can talk. My kind speak in around 6700 languages!

I can process thoughts.

I can choose whether to do the right thing or the wrong thing.

Who am I?

I see images upside down, which are then inverted by my mind,

There is more than 6 billion of my kind,

And each one has its own unique fingerprint!

I can smell the nicest of smells and the foulest of smells.

Who am I?

I have eye lids, without which I cannot close my eyes.

I have eye-brows, without which I would look odd.

I am able to grasp things in my hand.

If I get a cut, my skin heals on its own.

Who am I?

In my kind you’ll find those with different skin colors,

From the lightest to the darkest of tones.

You will also find different hair colors,

From bright blonde,

To tones of reds, browns and black.

A wide array of eye colors can also be found,

From sea-coloured, turquoise to lustrous, rich brown.

Who am I?

I am created from a single cell.

As an adult I have 50 to 75 trillion cells!

I have 30 trillion red-blood cells.

They may look tiny, but have a very important job to do.

They deliver oxygen to my body tissue.

Every second, my body produces 2.4 million new red blood cells!

Who am I?

I have 78 vital organs that function inside my body.

My Cardiovascular, Nervous and Digestive systems,

All function effortlessly.

Who am I?

I am a fascinating, complex mechanism!

Have you ever studied me?

If you do, you will be truly amazed.

I am the Best of Creation.

Then don’t you ever wonder,

Who Created Me?

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who am I?

  1. Alhamdulillah- this poem should be shared with young children/siblings! We should encourage them to look around, make their own list of blessings within themselves and write it in a poem form IA.

  2. Hiba says:

    subhaanAllaah, i love the ending!!!

  3. Zahra says:

    Yes it is Hiba:)Reflecting on the way we are created just makes me love our Creator more and more.We really need to be grateful to Him.

  4. Awaisha says:

    Subhan’Allah. amazing sharing!! 🙂

  5. najmudeen says:

    Assalamu alaikkum
    Thanks sharing, its truly reflection

Leave a Reply

