The Best of Planners


Safia Kemal

We begin our conversations, emails and sms with the common phrase, “What is the plan?” We begin thinking we are the executor of this plan and it is bound to happen.

We so easily forget that:

 إِنَّ اللَّهَ عِندَهُ عِلْمُ السَّاعَةِ وَيُنَزِّلُ الْغَيْثَ وَيَعْلَمُ مَا فِي الْأَرْحَامِ وَمَا تَدْرِي نَفْسٌ مَّاذَا تَكْسِبُ غَدًا وَمَا تَدْرِي نَفْسٌ بِأَيِّ أَرْضٍ تَمُوتُ إِنَّ اللَّهَ عَلِيمٌ خَبِيرٌ

“Indeed, Allah [alone] has knowledge of the Hour and sends down the rain and knows what is in the wombs. And no soul perceives what it will earn tomorrow, and no soul perceives in what land it will die. Indeed, Allah is Knowing and Acquainted.”
[Al-Quran- Surah Luqman: 34]

The other day we had gone out to eat and had brought home the leftovers. I thought I could share it with my mother the next day and I could also have it again as the food was so delicious.

The next day came a test for me. When it came time for lunch, I could just smell the delicious chicken pasta even before I had seen it. I opened the refrigerator to find the box gone!

I found out that my mother had had it. So alhumdulillah, that “plan” was successful. But, she had given away the rest of the food to the maids. I was so upset!

Then I suddenly thought of the part of the ayah of the Qur’an where Allah says:

نَّحْنُ نَرْزُقُهُمْ وَإِيَّاكُم

We provide for them and for you
[Al-Quran: Al-Isra:31]

I am not the one planning everything including my rizq. Allah is the one who plans this. So I should remember that Allah’s plan is executed above all our plans. With this attitude, those of us who feel angry, rejected and disappointed upon our plan not going our way are at peace that the final decision comes from Allah in all matters. He is Mudabbirul amr. (Controller of all affairs.)

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Best of Planners

  1. Zahra says:

    Safia,that’s so true.I have started noticing this very frequently.There are times when I plan something and ‘feel’ that it will work out;however when it does n’t I accept the outcome of my plans as I know our Rabb is The Best Planner.All that is expected from us is effort(‘aikal) and we have to leave the rest to Him.

  2. Uzma says:

    Safia, I agree! We do need to realize that ultimately Allah is the greatest Planner!

    I experienced something like this last weekend, when I was upset that nothing went accoding to the way I had planned. I ‘huffed and I puffed’ when my husband came home, and then I suddenly came to the realization that if everything had gone according to MY plan, then how would I have ever concluded that the greatest Planners of all is actually Allah!

  3. mariam nabeel says:

    Allah indeed is the greatest and the best planner . Alhamdulilah for many of the future events are kept hidden from us… so we shud rather invest our time and energy in obeying Him and worshiping Him and doing good deeds .
    Although instead of going random and unorganized we shud plan our things and then pray to the Almighty to make us able to fulfill our plans and shud always say “InshAllah ” 🙂
    i love ur blog. Excellent girls. May Allah accept ur efforts inshAllah. JazakAllah khair Zahra for sharing 🙂
    love u sisters for the sake of Allah swt .

  4. When challenges come our way instead of showing negative reactions we should accept the challenge as part of Allah’s plan. Only then can we learn from our mistakes, develop positive thinking and learn to truly rely upon Allah in all situations in life. May Allah give us wisdom to learn from our mistakes. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

