Repentance


قَالَ رَبِّ إِنِّي ظَلَمْتُ نَفْسِي فَاغْفِرْ لِي فَغَفَرَ لَهُ إِنَّهُ هُوَ الْغَفُورُ الرَّحِيمُ

He said, “My Lord, indeed I have wronged
myself, so forgive me,” and He forgave him.
Indeed, He is the Forgiving, the Merciful.
[Al-Quran- Al-Qasas (The Stories):16]

Two Wrongs Do Not Make A Right

Naheed Baluch

Upon acknowledging that I’ve sinned, my reaction should be:

  • Turning to Allah () seeking His forgiveness thereby repenting for my sin.
  • I should make a promise not to commit that sin again.
  • I should do good in order to erase the sin that I’ve committed. If I’ve wronged anyone I should apologize to them.

I do acknowledge that I sin but most of the time I don’t immediately seek forgiveness and turn to Allah () in repentance. I think this has to do with the fear that I might sin again or my repentance won’t be accepted. This is wrong also. A Believer should not lose hope of Allah’s () Mercy.

I should keep in mind the example of Musa (AS) and the first words that come out of my mind after acknowledging my sins should be Rabbi inni dhalumtu nafsi faghfirli. I should also remember how Allah () accepted Musa (AS)’s repentance immediately.

Now, I will keep in mind now after sinning to make the dua that Musa (AS) made after he sinned (which I have memorized) and to do islah (rectification), Insha’Allah.

Turning In Repentance

Sana Ahmad

My reaction from what I learn from the Qur’an and stories of the Prophets and especially those mentioned in the Qur’an is to firstly recognize that a sin has been done.

To begin with, to have the understanding that one has sinned or may have said or done something that Allah does not like is the ma’arfah (recognition) of the right path. Alhamdudullilah, my conscience is more attuned to the teachings of Allah (). So while I am doing something wrong, I know that yes it may be wrong or I may be displeasing Allah (). This in itself is a constant prick.

My reaction should be of immediate taubah and seeking of forgiveness. From Musa (AS). we learn also that it does not stop there. We need to also go a step ahead to make a firm promise within ourselves to prevent ourselves from this sinning again. Furthermore, we learn that when we are faced with a similar test again, we have to steer away from it.

Sometimes I do this all the way. Yet there are times, when I feel, it is ok: I am only human, and others do it too attitude. There are good deeds in my bank also. Those should take care of this not so acceptable reaction. This is in essence exactly what Shaitan does; he adorns our bad deeds to make it seem fair-seeming. How true is the Qur’an the way it describes the existence of life and more.

<!–[endif]–><!–[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 <![endif]–><!–[if gte mso 9]> <![endif]–><!–[endif]–> 

<!–[if !supportLists]–>·<!–[endif]–><!–[if gte vml 1]> <![endif]–><!–[if !vml]–>alayhis<!–[endif]–>

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

