The Ultimate Role Model


Sana Ahmad

النَّبِيُّ أَوْلَى بِالْمُؤْمِنِينَ مِنْ أَنفُسِهِمْ وَأَزْوَاجُهُ أُمَّهَاتُهُمْ وَأُوْلُو الْأَرْحَامِ بَعْضُهُمْ أَوْلَى بِبَعْضٍ فِي كِتَابِ اللَّهِ مِنَ الْمُؤْمِنِينَ وَالْمُهَاجِرِينَ إِلَّا أَن تَفْعَلُوا إِلَى أَوْلِيَائِكُم مَّعْرُوفًا كَانَ ذَلِكَ فِي الْكِتَابِ مَسْطُورًا
“The Prophet is more worthy of the believers than themselves, and his wives are [in the position of] their mothers. And those of [blood] relationship are more entitled [to inheritance] in the decree of Allah than the [other] believers and the emigrants, except that you may do to your close associates a kindness [through bequest]. That was in the Book inscribed.”
[Al Qur’an-Surah Al Ahzab (The Combined Forces): 06]

To believe that the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) is uswatun hasanah (exemplary pattern) and to follow his example in all areas is part of iman (faith).

Alhamdulillah, being born a Muslim means that we have the right aqeedah (creed) about him; however I fall short in following through with my actions.

The Changes Within Me After the Qur’an

Some time ago I stopped praying my sunnah as regularly as I should have, especially the four sunnah of dhuhr.  However, we learn the importance of these four rakahs from this hadith:

Aisha (RA) said: “The Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) never left praying four rakah before dhuhr and two rakah before fajr under any circumstance.” [Bukhari]

Alhamdulillah, now I have started saying the sunnah of dhuhr again.  I pray that Allah (https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif)  gives me istiqaama (steadfastness) in this, Insha’Allah.

Another way in which I did not follow the Prophet’s( صلى الله عليه وسلم) example is the way in which I spent my free time. For example, I used to watch a lot of TV or  sat glued to random videos online. After coming to this course, I hardly have any time to do that.  I feel I have a better use of my time.

 Alhamdulillah, although I tried to stop listening to music quite a while ago, I used to indulge in it time and again, until we went over some ahadith such as:

There will be [at some future time] people from my Ummah who will seek to make lawful: fornication, the wearing of silk, wine-drinking and the use of musical instruments. Some people will stay at the side of a mountain, and they will have flocks of sheep. When a poor person comes in the evening to ask them for something he needs, they will say,’ Return to us tomorrow.’ Then Allah (https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif) will destroy them during the night by causing the mountain to fall upon them, while He changes others into apes and swine. They will remain in such a state until the Day of Resurrection.”  (Bukhari)

While some things have changed Alhamdulillah, I still have a long way to go.

What I Need to Continue Working On

  • However, I still waste time reading books that are not related to religion. I still waste time on irrelevant and unimportant websites. I still sometimes watch TV, rather than investing that time reading/ teaching/ learning the Qur’an like Rasul Allah           ( صلى الله عليه وسلم ).
  • I have not read a lot of seerah books, nor have I finished reading the entire collection of Saheeh Ahadith in the Bukhari collection. I do not know about the Rasul Allah ( صلى الله عليه وسلم) in the detail that I should.
  • The small things in which I disobey him include things like eating food while it is too hot or too cold, for e.g. ice cream. Sometimes, when in a hurry, I drink water standing up and in one breath only.
  • I do not always sleep on my right side, but usually sleep in whatever position I am comfortable.
  • I do not listen to people attentively the way Rasul Allah (صلى الله عليه وسلم ).

We should never consider even the smallest of things insignificant, because everything that Rasul Allah(صلى الله عليه وسلم) did was full of wisdom and  importance.

May Allah (https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif) give us all the ability to follow his example, Insha’Allah.

While I do respect the Ummahaat-Al-Mu’mineen, I feel that I do not know about them as much as I should . Learning about them will only increase one’s love and respect for them. These are things that are easy to remedy and all I have to do is invest my time.

The wives of the Prophet ( صلى الله عليه وسلم) are especially relevant examples, next to the example of the Prophet ( صلى الله عليه وسلم) of course. They were strong, patient women, who were intelligent and knowledgeable. They always did what they had to while remaining in the bounds of Islam and shari’ah.

While I respect them greatly and feel love for them, I should try to make my own personality and actions like them as well, rather than just admire their character.


About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ultimate Role Model

  1. Pingback: The Best of All Examples | Quran Reflections | Find Best Information about Islam on Internet

  2. Muhammad Tariq says:

    Masha Allah.

Leave a Reply

