My Progress Report


Hiba Khan

إِنَّا جَعَلْنَا مَا عَلَى الْأَرْضِ زِينَةً لَّهَا لِنَبْلُوَهُمْ أَيُّهُمْ أَحْسَنُ عَمَلًا

“Indeed, We have made that which is on the earth an adornment for it, so that We may test them [as to] which of them are best in deeds.”
[Al-Quran – Al-Kahf (The Cave: 7]

In the odd times when I remember that my life is a test, I feel like I’m failing miserably.

There is still a great disparity between my ilm (knowledge) and amal (action) which I am finding difficult to bridge. The more the knowledge, the more the accountability; and sometimes the more complacency also. This is a great attack of the Shaitan. I ask Allah
(https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif) to give me hidayah tawfeeq (guidance to act) and not just hidayah irshaad (guidance of knowledge).


Before coming to the Qur’an, when I used to read about how Allah   (https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif) guides and misguides whomever He wills, I used to think that even if He tries to misguide me, I will not let that happen! Na’oodhubillaah (We seek refuge in Allah), of course, that was foolish thinking on my part, and Allah has taught me a lesson. There are times when I absolutely cannot bring myself to do good deeds, even if I want to do them.

Hence, I realize that Allah (https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif) is Always Almighty. We are all helpless beings who cannot even do a single good deed EXCEPT with His tawfeeq.

2 Ways of Assessing Oneself
There are two ways one can give oneself marks on the “test of life.”

  1. One way is by comparing oneself to disbelievers, criminals and sinners including murderers, adulterers and thieves, etc. When I do this, I feel like I’m doing pretty well.
  2. The other way is to compare oneself with the Prophets, Sahabah (Companions of the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم), Tabi’een (Pious Predecessors who met the Sahabah), Taba Tabi’een (Pious Predecessors who met the Tabi’een), scholars and the believers as described in the Qur’an, etc. When I do this, I feel like the scum of the earth and my sins are suddenly all too clear in front of me.

It is better to judge oneself based on one’s comparison (contrast, rather) to the pious predecessors rather than the sinners. It is better to be safe than sorry!

How Can I do Better?

  •  I can make my deeds ahsan (best) by doing whatever good deed I do with utmost ikhlaas (sincerity), which is a way of making it at the level of excellence.
  • Also, I should do deeds for the pleasure of Allah (https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif) instead of doing good deeds merely out of the goodness of my heart (like many non-Muslims also do).
  • I should never underestimate small or few acts of goodness if they are done with sincerity, because the key word Allah (https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif) has mentioned for the deeds that carry marks is ahsan (best) and not akthar (most). Quality is more important than quantity. For example, a two rakah prayer filled with khushoo(humility) and weeping for fear of Allah (https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif) would probably be more beloved to and high-ranking in the sight of Allah (https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif) than a dozen rakah offered mindlessly with no understanding of the words uttered in the salah.

May Allah ( https://i2.wp.com/www.sunniforum.com/forum/images/smilies/taala.gif) give us all the tawfeeq to do ahsan amal, Ameen.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Progress Report

  1. Naheed says:

    May Allah always give you and us the tawfiq to do good deeds. Ameen.
    The Quran really brings out of many darknesses. Before coming to it most of us tend to be of those who compare ourselves with those people in category number 1, hence making us content with the little good we do.
    Its only when we come to the Quran that we realize that in fact we haven’t really done much.
    May Allah give us hidaya and keep us guided on this path till we reach our destination. Ameen.

  2. As Hiba mentioned, an important thing that we have to continuously check is
    our intention.If we do a deed that is not solely for the pleasure of Allah then our amal would get wasted.

  3. Mariam says:

    It’s important to purify our intentions, be mindful of following the method prescribed through the Sunnah and persevere in whatever good deeds we do get the taufiq to perform. May Allah give us the wisdom to ‘self-lessly’ serve Him. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

