When You Wrong Yourself


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Deeba Qamar

My parents had come from India to spend some time with me.

One day we were in the kitchen together preparing a dish. Over the years, I have developed my own style of cooking which is different from my mother’s. She wanted me to add a particular ingredient to the dish that I did not.

I could feel the pressure build up and I finally said, “Mummy, this is how I do this, so please don‘t disturb.” I thought to myself, “I know what I am doing. She does not need to tell me especially when I am all grown up!”

She remained quiet for the rest of the evening looking very hurt. I did not even realize what I had said to my mother in anger. How easily I forgot the time when I couldn’t even eat my own food without her help, and now I was trying to teach her!

Having realized my mistake, I went to her and apologized and told her that I was not in the correct frame of mind and had been misled by Shaitan. I thought of Musa (عليهِ سلام)’s dua:

قَالَ رَبِّ إِنِّي ظَلَمْتُ نَفْسِي فَاغْفِرْ لِي فَغَفَرَ لَهُ إِنَّهُ هُوَ الْغَفُورُ الرَّحِيمُ

“He said, “My Lord, indeed I have wronged myself, so forgive me,” and He forgave him. Indeed, He is the Forgiving, the Merciful.”
[Al-Quran: Surah Al-Qasas (The Stories): 16]

I said. “Inni zalamtu nafsi fagh firli” (Indeed I’ve wronged myself, so forgive me),” and went into sajdah (prostration) seeking Allah (سبحانه وتعالى )’s forgiveness.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When You Wrong Yourself

  1. It’s Allah’s blessing that through Qur’an He makes us realize our mistakes.As a result there is a desire to make up for them as well.We should try our best to do ihsan with our parents, so make dua that Allah s.w.t helps you in doing so.

  2. Zahra says:

    We should make the following beautiful dua for our parents:
    رَّبِّ ارْحَمْهُمَا كَمَا رَبَّيَانِي صَغِيرً
    “My Lord, have mercy upon them as they brought me up [when I was] small.”
    (Surah Isra:24)
    This dua inshaAllah will enable us to do ihsan with our parents.

  3. sadaffarooqi says:

    Very touching and inspiring post!
    Jazakillahu khair.

  4. Safia Kemal says:

    Sometimes we think an action to be a small thing, but actually in sight of Allah (SWT) it amounts to something significantly big. Yes, the Qur’an does make one realize all the mistakes whether big or small and once that is done, Allah also gives a chance to rectify them, Alhamdulillah.

  5. mariam.n says:

    Bismillah

    AsalamOalekum

    Alhamdulilah, for we have the Quran and sunnah to help us rectify our affairs timely.

    If you look at this whole incident in a worldly sense, you may feel that you did not make any mistake and it was just your being too open, honest and friendly with your mom but its only when you analyze each of your acts and deeds on the basis of Quran and sunnah you realize, about the high status of parents, especially the mother, and that hurting them is a sin. Our beautiful deen is so complete, Alhamdulilah.

    jazakillah khair for sharing…

  6. Awaisha says:

    Asa. parents are so very closest to us. We tend to act this way some times, forgetting the fact that for us they are greatest Muhsineen in this world. Especially, when teenagers are guided by parents or when they are given a suggestion from parents to do this or don’t do this, we let this all go away by saying “Mamma/dad you really have got no taste!!” just simple thing to be ponder upon and reflect that parents always want good for their child.

    Inspiring post indeed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

