Not Today,Tomorrow


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Awaisha Inayat

مَّا كَانَ عَلَى النَّبِيِّ مِنْ حَرَجٍ فِيمَا فَرَضَ اللَّهُ لَهُ سُنَّةَ اللَّهِ فِي الَّذِينَ خَلَوْا مِن قَبْلُ وَكَانَ أَمْرُ اللَّهِ قَدَرًا مَّقْدُورًا

 “There is not to be upon the Prophet any discomfort concerning that which Allah has imposed upon him. [This is] the established way of Allah with those [prophets] who have passed on before. And ever is the command of Allah a destiny decreed.”
[Al-Quran: Surah Al-Ahzab (The Combined Forces): 38]

As the Qur’an clearly states, the purpose of revelation is not to provide discomfort to the Believers. This clearly highlights the point that these revelations are for our own benefit. We shouldn’t feel burdened in acting upon them.

Alhamdullilah, I have already started implementing some of the ahkam (commands) I have learnt, but I am still falling short in many areas.

Frequently, I come across the ayah (verses) of glorifying Allah (سبحانه وتعالى ) in the morning and evening:

يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا اذْكُرُوا اللَّهَ ذِكْرًا كَثِيرًا 41
وَسَبِّحُوهُ بُكْرَةً وَأَصِيلًا 42

“O you who have believed, remember Allah with much remembrance 41
And exalt Him morning and afternoon.” 42
[Al-Quran – Surah Al-Ahzab (The Combined Forces): 41-42]


Alhamdullilah
, I have memorized most of the morning and evening duas (supplications). I am more regular in the morning, but in the evening I sometimes miss out.

I need to understand and continuously remind myself that this is for my own betterment and not a burden on me. Yet, when Shaitaan over takes me, I tend to forget or I choose my nafs over the commands of Allah. I tell myself, “I am too tired today. I will do it tomorrow, Insha’Allah.” Or I will think, “But I did these duas in the morning!” To recite a few duas is really not so difficult to do.

A Sum Up
I need to begin living at a conscious level. The fact that I sometimes implement and at other times choose not to, clearly shows that I am not living at a conscious level yet. I have to try to take out all the traces of hypocrisy from within myself including the minor ones. I have to be more sincere towards myself and understand what is truly better for me.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not Today,Tomorrow

  1. Safia Kemal says:

    Asa,
    If we just think that this may be the last minute that we are living and there will not be a tomorrow for us, we will not procrastinate any good deed! Rather, we will rush towards it. The idea is to remember our death. May Allah give us the taufeeq to rush to good deeds and accumulate as many points of sawab as we can so our scales are more filled. Ameen.

  2. Talha says:

    Awe-inspiring, MashAllah. Keep up the great work. May Allah SWT bless yuh, InshaAllah. =]

  3. Adeel Anwer says:

    Thought Provoking !
    No matter how much we try.. we will always fall short.. but I strongly believe that if we try honestly, Allah will give us much more than we deserve or expect. We just need to keep trying.. for own betterment and these tries will inshAllah make us successful in the end. Thanks for sharing !

Leave a Reply

