O Allah! Save Me…


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Uzma Jawed

ثُمَّ سَوَّاهُ وَنَفَخَ فِيهِ مِن رُّوحِهِ وَجَعَلَ لَكُمُ السَّمْعَ وَالْأَبْصَارَ وَالْأَفْئِدَةَ قَلِيلًا مَّا تَشْكُرُونَ

“Then He proportioned him and breathed into him from His [created] soul and made for you hearing and vision and hearts; little are you grateful.”
[Al-Qur’an – Surah As-Sajdah (The Prostration): 9]

An Assessment Table
From the above ayah, I am reminded that Allah (سبحانه وتعالى ) has blessed us with faculties. One way of thanking Allah is to use the faculties given by Him in the ways which please Him.

I decided to assess myself in light of an Assessment Table which I created for myself. This helped me analyze the use of the blessings given to me by Allah and decide whether I used them in His way or not.

Conclusion
There are some activities in which I use the faculties given to me by Almighty Allah in displeasing Him: like using my hearing for listening to music while I work out, or when I use my ears for some juicy gossip or some slandering, like when I use my eyes to see things on TV that I am not supposed to, or when I use my heart to justify or make excuses for doing something wrong. Also, I use my heart to satisfy my nafs and go against the wishes of Almighty Allah.

As soon as I begin indulging in gossip or begin to complain, I need to remind myself that my tongue is a blessing from Allah and it should only be used to say things that please Him most.

I seek refuge from Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) from seeing no evil, hearing no evil, and feeling no evil! Ameen.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to O Allah! Save Me…

  1. Safia Kemal says:

    I look at the phrase: قَلِيلًا مَّا تَشْكُرُونَ . We take so many of our faculties for granted. It is only when we see maybe handicap people, we think that Allah (SWT) has truly blessed us and maybe sometimes not even then.

    We need to be aware of these as the ayah explains that Allah proportioned man and granted us these faculties Himself. We also need to remember that these very hands, feet will get a tongue on the Day of Judgment and will start relating all that we have used them for. This is a scary thought and we should fear of what they might have to say about us…

  2. Safia Kemal says:

    Asa – BTW – the daleel for my above comment is Surah An-Nur Ayah 24: http://quran.com/24

  3. Mariam says:

    This is also related to ayah 12 of Surah Yaseen that we covered in class:
    http://quran.com/36/12
    “Indeed, it is We who bring the dead to life and record what they have put forth and what they left behind, and all things We have enumerated in a clear register.”

    Wherever we go, whatever we do we create an impact on our surroundings. We leave impressions not only on people we meet but also the environment! Everything is being recorded and can eventually go in our favor or against!

    May Allah make us a source of barakah wherever we go and may we spread the light of the Quran and Sunnah. Ameen.

  4. Farah Mughal says:

    the table is a unique way of writing your reflections

Leave a Reply

