Ibaadah – What it Really Means


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Sana Ahmad

الْيَوْمَ نَخْتِمُ عَلَى أَفْوَاهِهِمْ وَتُكَلِّمُنَا أَيْدِيهِمْ وَتَشْهَدُ أَرْجُلُهُمْ بِمَا كَانُوا يَكْسِبُونَ
“That Day, We will seal over their mouths, and their hands will speak to Us, and their feet will testify about what they used to earn.”
 [Al-Qur’an –Surah Ya-Sin:65]

 

We can make any action an ibaadah (worship), by having taqwa (fear of Allah). Taqwa means remembering at all times that Allah is watching us, and that we are answerable only to Him about our deeds.

Ibaadah does not only involve salah and tasbih (glorifying Allah سبحانه وتعالى ), although both are a major part of it, but obeying Him in our dealings with people as well. Since Islam is a way of life, it gives instructions about not only how to fulfill the rights of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى), but of people as well.

I think in my life so far, it has not been all ibaadah; there have been instances where I have taken decisions based on what I wanted, rather than what Allah(سبحانه وتعالى) asked of me.

In the immediate future, as Tafheem-e-Deen (Understanding Religion) course continues, Insha’Allah, I want to put in my best efforts not just in tests etc, but also in implementing what we learn everyday.

As I go on for further studies, Insha’Allah. I want to make sure it’s something that will benefit my akhira as well as dunya, rather than only my dunya.

Further , I hope that I can raise my own children to be good Muslims, Insha’Allah, and be a good daughter, sister, wife and mother myself. I also hope to teach the Qur’an, and contribute in any way that I can in spreading Islam, Insha’Allah.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ibaadah – What it Really Means

  1. Kulsoom says:

    This was a very nice reflection on how to have taqwa and how we can do ibaadat in many different ways. It also mentioned how we should be obeying Allah at all times and how we can gain Allah’s mercy and bounty. This reflection also told us how we should be obeying and glorifying Allah at all times.

  2. Zahra says:

    Yesterday my neighbours and I were listening to a lecture and the topic of lying was touched. They mentioned that they lie for little things.Alhamdulillah, today one of them was telling me how she was about to lie and remembered that its wrong.It was Taqwa that stopped her from lying. We forget that our good character and our honest dealings with people is also ibaadah.

  3. Naheed says:

    Jazakillah khair for the reflection. I never really reflected that actions can be ibaadah if there is an element of taqwa. This reflection clears the misconception we may have regarding ibaadah: considering it only to be worship.

  4. Mariam says:

    SubhanAllah- through the month of Ramadan, the month of the Qur’an, we should pray that Allah enables us to internalize the teachings of the Qur’an and implement it in the true sense! We do recognize it to be a source of guidance but it truly benefits the one with taqwa (Allah consciousness)! And this requires that self control which enables one to stop from leaping towards that wrong action when none is around simply because one knows that Allah is seeing what we do at all times!

Leave a Reply

