Can I Make My Life an ‘Ibaadah?


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Samreen Awan

أَلَمْ أَعْهَدْ إِلَيْكُمْ يَا بَنِي آدَمَ أَن لَّا تَعْبُدُوا الشَّيْطَانَ إِنَّهُ لَكُمْ عَدُوٌّ مُّبِينٌ 60

وَأَنْ اعْبُدُونِي هَذَا صِرَاطٌ مُّسْتَقِيمٌ61

“Did I not enjoin you, O children of Adam, not to worship shaitan, who is your open enemy, And that you should worship Me, which is the right way?”
[Al-Quran-Surah Yasin: 60-61]

 

Since the beginning of time, human beings have struggled with some common and pertinent queries regarding life and its purpose. Across nations and generations, humanity as a whole and each person on an individual level has faced the following questions:

  1. What is the purpose of my life? Why was I created?
  2. What will happen once I am dead ?

I have also tried to find answers to these questions in various ways and at different points in my life. Ultimately, only the Glorious Qur’an, the true light and guide for mankind, can resolve these questions for us. The Qur’an alone can provide us and has provided us with  perfect answers to these questions that shall stay true and relevant till the end of time.

In this context, Surah Yasin is a remarkable surah of the Qur’an that can really shake one up from within. Surah Yasin maybe the most oft-recited surah. After going through the word by word translation, word analysis and fehm (understanding) of this surah, I have truly been able to appreciate the comprehensive message conveyed here. The concepts of Tawheed (monotheism), Eeman in the Akhira (Belief in the Hereafter), and ‘Ibaadah as the real purpose of life are now clear in my mind.

Analysis of my Life so Far and Corrective Measures:
Even though I claim to love Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) and His Prophet (صلي  اللهُ عليهِ وسلم) and the Qur’an, not much of my life is actually being spent in true ‘Ibaadah. The majority of my day is consumed with worldly activities concerning my house, my children  and my own pleasures. If I add up the time I spend  in Salah, reciting the Qur’an and in the remembrance of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى), it will amount to a very small percentage  of the day.

Having said that, Alhamdulillah, the study of Qur’an has affected my heart and changed my attitude immensely. I hold back from many things that may displease Allah (سبحانه وتعالى), such as backbiting, anger and complaints. However, most areas of my life still need to be better aligned with the requirements of our deen (religion).

The  ayaat (verses) mentioned above clearly explain the purpose of our creation which is worship of the All Mighty Allah.

Ibaadah (worship) Comprises of Two Things:
1.) Fear of Allah سبحانه وتعالى
2.) Humility. We must fear Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) and make ourselves humble. Any good deed that we do can become an ‘ibaadah if we do it sincerely for Allah (سبحانه وتعالى)’s sake.

I have to truly internalize these ayaat (verses) in order to change my life into ‘ibaadah. Every act from sleeping to eating, to dealing with my spouse has to be to please Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) foremost. The love of duniya and fear of people are two diseases that I must strive to remove within me, Insha’Allah.

The way to do that is to slowly reduce the importance of these from my heart and my life. To make my entire life ‘ibaadah, I have to inculcate the fear of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) and the Hereafter within my heart and soul. At each step, as a Believer, I have to pause, think and then act. It is not easy but with practice and prayers it can become a way of life, Insha’Allah. When I think about my life at the moment and how I can mould it into ‘ibaadah, the following things immediately come to my mind:

1. Salah Is Foremost: 
Five prayers a day are the first manifestation of true Eeman.  I need to ask myself the following questions: What is the quality of my prayers? Can I perform each Salah as my last with complete concentration and humility? Is my salah truly presentable to the Lord of the Heavens and Earth? Can I spend more time on my ruku’ and sujud?

2. Qur’an Cannot be Left Even for a Day: I have had enough practical experiences to know that when I go away from the Qur’an I cannot handle my life properly and I forget about my Akhira. Even if it’s a verse in a day, I must not lose my connection with the Glorious Qur’an Insha’Allah.

3.Letting Go of What Takes Me Away from Allah (سبحانه وتعالى). Life is short and if some people or places are taking me away from the remembrance  of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى), I must  leave them. Instead,I should spend time with people who will help me with my mission of making my entire life ‘ibaadah.

4. Fearing Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) is an Entire Way of LifeAllah (سبحانه وتعالى) has blessed me and made me a student of the Qur’an. Qur’an gives us the Furqan (criterion) to  differentiate right  from wrong. I should use this blessing to my benefit and judge every action of mine.

5. How Can I Please Allah (سبحانه وتعالى)I need to pose this question to myself before eating, socializing, shopping, or sleeping. The following things come to my mind to implement this particular area:

  • When I disagree with my mother, I can stay quiet rather than become rude because Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) will be pleased with this.
  • Rather than arguing with my spouse, I could be patient for the sake of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى).
  • I can suppress the urge to complain to someone about my kids and my servants as complaining is being ungrateful to my Rabb.
  • I can follow the sunnah and not overeat. Also, I can make sure I sit whenever I drink water.
  • I can refrain from being ostentatious and adopt simplicity as per the sunnah.
  • I can make more effort and spend more in charity to get a bigger reward from Allah (سبحانه وتعالى).
  • I can be polite to people, smile and say Salaam.
  • I can forgive more often.

6. Adopt Humility and Let Go of the “Me, Myself and I” Attitude’. For all of the above this point is a pre-requisite.  For years I have believed that life is to get the most out of it and it is all about seeking pleasure, relaxation and success.  “You only live once!” Whereas, when you come to the Qur’an, you learn that these are perhaps small parts of life that can be done within limits but should not become or take you away from the main objective of existence.

I, Insha’Allah aim to live up to the points mentioned above as much as I can. Humility and fear of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) are the only things that can deliver me from the huge burden of sins that I have accumulated and the many wrongs that I continue  to commit. May Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) help me retain the lessons I’ve learnt from Surah Yasin in my heart and through my amal (action). Ameen.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can I Make My Life an ‘Ibaadah?

  1. Kulsoom says:

    This reflection told us about different ways of ibaadat and different ways to please Allah and how we get His Mercy and Forgiveness. We should have a link to with the Quran and should act upon what is in the Quran. We learn another thing from this reflection that how we can please Allah and how we should live our life.

  2. Safia Kemal says:

    We as Muslims try to keep deen separate from duniya. We are under the misconception that this is how we will be successful in life. We do not realize that being a Muslim requires complete submission like Ibrahim (AS).

    When his Lord said to him, “Submit”, he said “I have submitted [in Islam] to the Lord of the worlds.” (2:131)

    It cannot be that we be Muslims, but – we don’t practice “this” and we don’t practice “that” in Islam. Or we say, “We know it is wrong but we still do it.”
    The goal is to make the entire an Ibaadah as is stated above in each and every way possible, At least we need to make an effort. inshallah. JKK for the write up.

  3. Samar Hasan says:

    “Can I perform each Salah as my last with complete concentration and humility? Is my salah truly presentable to the Lord of the Heavens and Earth?”
    This makes me think about my own salah…especially when Samreen says ‘the Lord of the Heavens and the Earth’. We KNOW he is the Owner, Creator, Cherisher, Sustainer, Provider, Planner, Master….RABB!
    Ofcourse He is the King of all the universes, but is that something we realise while standing in salah? Do our legs shake in awe of His Magnificence as they probably would have if we were to go and visit a king of some country in the Dunya (getting dressed in the best and putting on our best behaviour)?
    The real problem just lies in the fact that we don’t truly believe that the angels of death will come to collect us any time starting now!

Leave a Reply

