Ungrateful Reports


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Farah Mughal

وَإِنَّ رَبَّكَ لَذُو فَضْلٍ عَلَى النَّاسِ وَلَكِنَّ أَكْثَرَهُمْ لَا يَشْكُرُونَ

“And indeed, your Lord is full of bounty for the people, but most of them do not show gratitude.”
[Al-Qur’an- Surah An-Naml (The Ant): 73]

Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) has given all of us different blessings. These blessing include: the houses we live in, the food we eat and the water we drink, to name only a few.

Speaking of water, there has been a reported shortage of this necessity these days in the city of Karachi. To assess the situation and the feedback of people, I decided to do a little survey by talking to the different residents and see what their views are. Here is the feedback I received from the neighborhood.

Self-Employed Uriah Heep, 26, who is self-employed, says: “I have been without light or water for the last fourteen hours. Because of this water crisis, my wife can’t cook, nor can I finish concentrate on my work as I am going back and forth with the City Water Department. I feel as if I am living in the jungles somewhere in Africa!”

Student Liz Bennet, 16, who is a student, reports: “How am I supposed to look good if I can’t take my usual two hour shower in the morning? A girl needs to look her best, and it is already summer! Why does God have to punish good people for others’ sins?”

Student of the Qur’an Amala Mu’minoona, 29, who is a student of the Qur’an, tells her side of the story, but in a different manner: “No water? Alhumdullilah, this is a test from my Lord! He has blessed me with a nice home, great food to eat and a wonderful family. I pray everyone’s situation becomes better in a timely manner. I have recognized this situation to be a test from Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) and the only worry I have is whether I act in the way that pleases Him most.”

Well, there you have it folks, the views of the different citizens of this city! The story that should stand out in our minds and hearts is the story of Amala. Though she too is being faced with the lack of water, she understands that this is a sign from Allah (سبحانه وتعالى), and knows when to be grateful, and it is important for us to take the Uriah Heeps and Liz Bennets out of us! The situation may not be in our control, but we are always in control of our own reactions to the situations.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ungrateful Reports

  1. Awaisha says:

    In different reactions of different people, best of all is of the one who is connected with Quran. It really helps us to change our perspective. May Allah guide me and others as well to do every single act which pleases Allah most.

Leave a Reply

