A Fruitless Day


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Uzma Jawed

فَبِأَيِّ آلَاء رَبِّكُمَا تُكَذِّبَانِ



“So which of the favors of your Lord would you deny?

[Al-Qur’an-Surah Ar-Rahman (The Beneficent):13]

One day, my husband brought lots of yummy fruits: grapes, peaches, mangos and a melon. I was delighted to see all my favorite fruits, but the first thing that came out my mouth on seeing the huge melon was,

“Oh no! Not another melon?! We still haven’t finished using the other melon that you brought and I have no space to keep it!”

Instantly, I realized that instead of being grateful that he had  brought all my favorite fruits after a long, exhausting day at work, I decided to focus on the one thing that I didn’t want, the BIG melon!

I knew that I would be held accountable for all the blessings that I had received in that instant: the love and efforts of my husband, the yummy, delicious grapes, the juicy peaches and of course the mouth-watering mangos!

Instead of saying “thank-you” and “Jazakallah khair” for the blessings I had received, I decided to be ungrateful and complain. It was an instant reaction, and I realized my mistake. However, it was a second too late!

 Questions I would be asked on such an incident would be:

  • Were you not grateful for your husband’s efforts?
  • Were you not grateful for all the delicious fruits you had received?
  • Do you know how many people out there can’t afford such luxuries?
  • Do you know how lucky you are to be in a country where such delicious fruits are produced?

What I Learned: The instant reaction you show upon a blessing depicts your attitude of gratefulness and ungratefulness to Allah  (سبحانه وتعالى )!

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Fruitless Day

  1. What you said is true – the reaction (a verbal one or just one’s body language) that comes in the instant in which a blessing is received, depicts one’s true feelings.
    Allah knows best.

  2. Kulsoom says:

    It is so true that we should be grateful for the blessings that Allah has provided us and we should always appreciate what people do for us.

  3. Naheed says:

    Another way of showing gratitude for a blessing is to use it in a way that pleases Allah. So you can always share, insha’Allah you’ll be rewarded for that :-).

    • zahrahaque says:

      Alhamdulillah a great reminder! It made me realize how I do the same thing sometimes about fruit.Just the fact that someone is making an effort to get something for the house should be appreciated.May we learn from our mistakes and become grateful to Allah swt and to people in the true sense.

Leave a Reply

