The Keys…


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Deeba Qamar

لَهُ مَقَالِيدُ السَّمَاوَاتِ وَالْأَرْضِ وَالَّذِينَ كَفَرُوا بِآيَاتِ اللَّهِ أُوْلَئِكَ هُمُ الْخَاسِرُونَ

“To Him belong the keys of the heavens and the earth. And they who disbelieve in the verses of Allah – it is those who are the losers.”
[Al-Qur’an: Surat Az-Zumar (The Troops):63]

Yesterday when I reached my home after my Qur’an class, I put my hand in my bag to get the house keys out to open the door. To my dismay, I did not find them. I hurriedly put my hand in all directions inside the bag without any luck. I realized that I had completely forgotten to put them in the bag and had assumed that I had already put them there.

My mind raced frantically. “Now What? I was already late coming back home. Soon my maid would come and the driver has to fetch my daughters from their school and here I was locked outside my own house!”

“Keys! They are so important. How could I have been so careless to have left them in the first place?”

At that instant, I said, “Alhumdulillah,” for the fact that at least my driver had the key to the main gate of the house. I entered and told my driver to first go and get a locksmith from nearby. I could have never been more grateful for having the driver that day!

I went to the backyard of the house where there are chairs and sat there. “Alhumdulillah, for the sitting area there,” I thought to myself. Sitting there waiting for the driver to return with the locksmith, I pondered over Ayah 63 of Surat Az-Zumar, where Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) says that the keys of the heaven and the earth belong to Him alone. They are the keys to Allah (سبحانه وتعالى)’s storehouse.

Staring at the locked doors and the windows of the house, I thought there is so much stored behind them but without the keys, they are unattainable. SubhanAllah, it was such an important reminder. With this realization, I accepted that what is happening to me now is with the permission of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى). This incident is happening for me to learn a lesson of patience , gratitude and so that I learn to use wisdom.

Immediately, I realized that I have my Qur’an class bag with me so I can utilize my time by doing my sabaq (lesson). What could be a better way to use my time for the Qur’an? Alhumdulillah!

Not for a moment did I give in to the incitements of Shaitan trying to cause me to panic. I stayed very calm and just prayed to Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) that, “Only You can make things easy for me.” It even dawned on me that nothing can happen without the permission of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى).

Soon my maid came and now it was the two of us who were waiting. My heart told me to grab the opportunity to teach her something of the Qur’an. I inquired about her injury. She told me she was much better. The discussion went on and she asked, “Don’t you ever go to see your parents in India?” I said, “Yes, but this time the gap is long because they have been visiting me and the visa formalities are making my visit difficult.” She had a wistful look on her face when she said,” You know India is such a nice place.” I asked, “How do you know?” She replied, “They have such good movies there and such beautiful girls.” Now I thought I should plant a “seed” of imaan (faith).

I said, “What you see on the screen is totally different from the reality and what the mass faces there. The population is huge. All you see are several people living in a small cramped up place. The beauty is not what is shown on TV. And in every nook, there is a temple and people worshipping idols. You should be thankful that in Pakistan, most people you see are Muslims. You see people praying even in unconstructed builidings. Most people wear proper and covered clothing also.”

She became slightly pensive. After a pause, she said she was grateful to Allah (سبحانه وتعالى ) for being in a Muslim country.

By this time, the locksmith had arrived. The door opened and we both went in the house with more gratitude and a stronger state of imaan (faith). Alhumdulillah.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Keys…

  1. Very touching, alhamdulillah. 🙂 Relating knowledge gleaned from the Quran to real life incidents is very important.
    Jazakillahu khair, Deeba.

  2. Safia Kemal says:

    This story was presented to us in our Qur’an class. Since then it has touched my heart so much that I have been referring back to it on a daily basis in my life. Deeba, may Allah (SWT) reward you for sharing this with us and putting it in a very effective way. 🙂 Keys – yes they are so very important, and sabr – that is so essential!

    • zahrahaque says:

      Alhamdulillah this is ‘ilman Nafiun’ (beneficial knowledge).Knowledge is only beneficial if it is put in amal.May Allah swt grant you iskimat and may you grab all opportunities that come your way.ameen

  3. samreen Awan-Khayyam says:

    Vey beautiful Amal Story MashAllah. It touched my heart and is a motivation for all of us to immedaitely implement what we are learning InshAllah

  4. Hiba says:

    mashaAllaah, this is beautiful! i could almost hear her voice and imagine the scene while she was narrating the story. this is what the Quraan does to you when you are in touch with it on a daily basis. subhaanAllaah.

Leave a Reply

