Jumping to Conclusions!


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Uzma Jawed

وَلَا تَسْتَوِي الْحَسَنَةُ وَلَا السَّيِّئَةُ ادْفَعْ بِالَّتِي هِيَ أَحْسَنُ فَإِذَا الَّذِي بَيْنَكَ وَبَيْنَهُ عَدَاوَةٌ كَأَنَّهُ وَلِيٌّ حَمِيمٌ


“And not equal are the good deed and the bad. Repel [evil] by that [deed] which is better; and thereupon the one whom between you and him is enmity [will become] as though he was a devoted friend.”

[Al-Qur’an: Surat Fussilat(Explained in Detail): 34]

How do I react when…

I’m hurt?

My initial reaction is, “ouch! It hurts!” And I just feel the NEED to complain! Then, the usual question is, “why me?” Finally, I decide to be patient and grateful, realizing that it could have been worse.

I’m wronged?

I wallow in self-pity and feel the urge to complain about it to someone.  Moreover, I have the innate desire to exact justice and defend myself! 

I’m grieving?

I feel self-pity, and complain about why I have to suffer!

What action plan can I make in order to be able to repel evil with good in my life?

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Personal Stories, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jumping to Conclusions!

  1. Mariam says:

    Alhamdulillah this is a very meaningful reflection because it clearly calls for ACTIONS not just thoughts! The last step mentioned gives such peace of mind once you begin adopting this system of dealing with others- SubhanAllah! May Allah SWT give us vastness of heart and mind. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

