Niagara Falls- Subhan’Allah!


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Abeer

سَنُرِيهِمْ آيَاتِنَا فِي الْآفَاقِ وَفِي أَنفُسِهِمْ حَتَّى يَتَبَيَّنَ لَهُمْ أَنَّهُ الْحَقُّ أَوَلَمْ يَكْفِ بِرَبِّكَ أَنَّهُ عَلَى كُلِّ شَيْءٍ شَهِيدٌ

“We will show them our signs in the horizons and within themselves until it becomes clear to them that it is the truth. But is it not sufficient concerning your Lord that He is, over all things, a Witness?”
[Al-Qur’an – Surah Fussilat (Explained in Detail):53]

I have recently joined the Tafheem-e-Deen course at Al Huda and am now learning the Qur’an. Recently, during the Eid-ul-Adha break, I travelled to North America with my husband and  got a chance to visit a 12,000 years old scenic site, the Niagara falls, for the very first time. With the Qur’an in my life now, seeing the beautiful scene of the Niagara falls was truly a wonderful experience.

As my husband and I witnessed the tremendous volume of water that never stops flowing, our expressions  could have been “wow “and “amazing”. Yet, Subhan’Allah(سبحان الله) (Glory be to Allah سبحانه وتعالى ) came out of my mouth instead as I recalled ayah 53 of Surah Fussilat.

At that point, near the Niagara Falls, I shared this ayah with my husband and explained to him what I had learned in my Qur’an class. There are signs for us from Allah (سبحانه وتعالى ) in all His creation. A true believer recognizes these signs as creation of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى ) and not just as mere tourist spots. True Believers show appreciation by praising and thanking Allah (سبحانه وتعالى ) alone. The best expression for this is nothing short of سبحان لله. Since this time, my husband and I both have learnt to appreciate the signs of Allah(سبحانه وتعالى ) in all of the creations that we see around us.

At the same time we also had the realization that millions of people visit this site and such other places all year around and witness the miracles of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى ) but one really needs to have the insight and imaan (faith) to recognize the signs of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى ) in this universe. Alhumdulillah (All praises and thanks are due to Allah), who gave me the taufiq (ability) to learn the Qur’an though which I can develop true recognition of my Creator.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Personal Stories, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Niagara Falls- Subhan’Allah!

  1. Zahra Haque says:

    SubhanAllah its amazing how our perspective changes with Qur’an,May Allah swt grant you istikamat.ameen

Leave a Reply

