For Every Problem Lies a Solution


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Uzma Jawed

وَيَقُولُ الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا لَوْلَا نُزِّلَتْ سُورَةٌ فَإِذَا أُنزِلَتْ سُورَةٌ مُّحْكَمَةٌ وَذُكِرَ فِيهَا الْقِتَالُ رَأَيْتَ الَّذِينَ فِي قُلُوبِهِم مَّرَضٌ يَنظُرُونَ إِلَيْكَ نَظَرَ الْمَغْشِيِّ عَلَيْهِ مِنَ الْمَوْتِ فَأَوْلَى لَهُمْ كَثِيرًا 20

طَاعَةٌ وَقَوْلٌ مَّعْرُوفٌ فَإِذَا عَزَمَ الْأَمْرُ فَلَوْ صَدَقُوا اللَّهَ لَكَانَ خَيْرًا لَّهُمْ كَثِيرًا21

“Those who believe say, “Why has a surah not been sent down? But when a precise surah is revealed and fighting is mentioned therein, you see those in whose hearts is hypocrisy looking at you with a look of one overcome by death. And more appropriate for them [would have been] obedience and good words.”
[Surah Muhammad: 20-21]

Think of yourself in a situation where you find a Hukm (command) of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) difficult to implement. What is the solution?

PROBLEMS:

Unfortunately, there are several ahkaam (commands) of Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) that I find difficult to follow, such as:

  • My hijab (veil) is not perfect as per Shariah (Islamic law). Sometimes my abayas (cloaks) have adornment on them, and sometimes my scarves are not big enough to cover my shoulders and bosom.
  • I am not patient at all times.
  • I sometimes miss my Fajr salah (prayer).
  • I am not punctual with my prayers.
  • I commit many useless actions, which deprive me of goodness and reward.
  • I am not brave enough to stop others from backbiting, and I become an accomplice by just staying there and listening.
  • Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) tells us to encourage the good and forbid the evil. There are many vices prevalent in society that I do nothing to correct.

SOLUTIONS:

  • Instill Taqwa (God-consciousness) within myself.
  • Strengthen my Iman (faith) to the extent that when I listen to the hukm (command) of    Allah (سبحانه و تعالى), I submit to Allah (سبحانه وتعالى )’s Will instantaneously.
  • Resolve to heed the Prophet (صلى الله عليه و سلم )’s statement that “There is no obedience to any created being if it involves disobedience to the Creator”.
  • Prioritize and give importance to the things that matter and please Allah (سبحانه وتعالى ) most.
  • Organize and discipline myself.
  • Ask Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) for barakah (blessing) in my time.
  • Do sincere dua (supplication).
  • Bring khushou (focus) in my salah (prayer).
  • Remember that Islam is a complete way of life!
About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For Every Problem Lies a Solution

  1. Samar says:

    MashaAllah 🙂 Concise and to the point.
    The first step is always to realize we’re going wrong somewhere. Take it from there and start with dua for Allah to strengthen us in our Imaan so much so that we are able to fight our nafs and/or the external pressure inshaAllah.
    May Allah strengthen all of us in our Deen and make us steadfast inshaAllah, ameen.

  2. samreen says:

    Very good reflection Uzma MashAllah 🙂 Can relate to it and want to implement through the solutions suggested IA.

Leave a Reply

