One Step Goes A Long Way


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Abeer Anees

وَوَصَّيْنَا الْإِنسَانَ بِوَالِدَيْهِ إِحْسَانًا حَمَلَتْهُ أُمُّهُ كُرْهًا وَوَضَعَتْهُ كُرْهًا وَحَمْلُهُ وَفِصَالُهُ ثَلَاثُونَ شَهْرًا حَتَّى إِذَا بَلَغَ أَشُدَّهُ وَبَلَغَ أَرْبَعِينَ سَنَةً قَالَ رَبِّ أَوْزِعْنِي أَنْ أَشْكُرَ نِعْمَتَكَ الَّتِي أَنْعَمْتَ عَلَيَّ وَعَلَى وَالِدَيَّ وَأَنْ أَعْمَلَ صَالِحًا تَرْضَاهُ وَأَصْلِحْ لِي فِي ذُرِّيَّتِي إِنِّي تُبْتُ إِلَيْكَ وَإِنِّي مِنَ الْمُسْلِمِينَ

“And we have enjoined upon man, to his parents, good treatment. His mother carried him with hardship and gave birth to him with hardship, and his gestation and weaning [period] is thirty months. [He grows] until, when he reaches maturity and reaches [the age of] forty years, he says, “My Lord, enable me to be grateful for Your favor which You have bestowed upon me and upon my parents and to work righteousness of which You will approve and make righteous for me my offspring. Indeed, I have repented to You, and indeed, I am of the Muslims.”
[Al-Qur’an – Surat Al-‘Aĥqāf (The Wind-Curved Sandhills): 15]

There was a wedding in my family, where my uncle’s son was getting married. My parents wanted me and my brother to attend the wedding, whereas we were reluctant to do so. This was because our sister had been married to our uncle’s eldest son, and eventually the marriage did not work out and led to a divorce. My parents patched up with my uncle’s family after few years, but my siblings and I still felt sympathetic towards our sister. It is hard to admit but in all honesty we held a grudge in our hearts  because of the divorce.

As our parents were abroad and the wedding was to take place here in Karachi, it was very important for them that we attended this wedding as their representatives.

My brother and I decided to follow our parents’ wishes despite our nafs (soul) or Shaitan (Satan) telling us otherwise. I did munajaat (secret talks) with Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) and expressed all my fears and apprehensions to Him alone.

It turned out that my brother and I did end up going to the wedding and Alhamdulillah, it wasn’t as bad as we thought it would be. We were received warmly and everyone welcomed us wholeheartedly. My uncle was extremely happy and he stayed with us throughout the evening. I realized I was speaking to him and my aunt after a gap of twelve years! This added to the joy of the family reunion, hence this event is well-remembered and cherished by my parents and other family members.

Indeed, if you call upon Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) and work towards pleasing Him the most, Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) helps you..

يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا إِن تَنصُرُوا اللَّهَ يَنصُرْكُمْ وَيُثَبِّتْ أَقْدَامَكُمْ

“O you who have believed, if you support Allah , He will support you and plant firmly your feet.”
[Al-Qur’an – Surat Muĥammad (Muhammad):7]

I am very grateful to Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) that He saved me not only from disobeying my parents, but also from cutting the ties of kinship.

Insha’Allah, I intend to strengthen my bond with this family by taking my husband along to visit them too, as we have not been to their house since my wedding three years ago.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

