It Is All About Eemaan


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Samreen Awan-Khayyam

وَلَقَدْ عَلِمْتُمُ الَّذِينَ اعْتَدَواْ مِنكُمْ فِي السَّبْتِ فَقُلْنَا لَهُمْ كُونُواْ قِرَدَةً خَاسِئِينَ – 2:65

And you had already known about those who transgressed among you concerning the sabbath, and We said to them, “Be apes, despised.”
[Al-Qur’an – Surah Al-Baqarah (The Cow) – 2:65]

“Is there a command of Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) I am deliberately not acting on yet? Why not and what should I do about it?”

This lesson and the  related reflection question has come at a very relevant time for me. That is the miracle of the glorious Qur’an; it has the power to change lives only if we take the guidance from it and truly internalize it.

There are two things, mainly, which I have been struggling with recently. One is a command I need to act on, and the other is a habit I need to get rid of for sure. Both things have been on my mind, and keep perturbing me constantly. The question is, what is the action plan and the way forward?

Courtesy: jazakallah.in

Courtesy: jazakallah.in

  1. I need to make dua regularly and sincerely for adopting the good ways and getting rid of the bad habits that displease my Creator.  
  2. I need to replace the bad habits by occupying myself with better things and things that bring khayr (betterment). For example I can read a good book to help my mind focus on the positive things and help increase my knowledge in deen.
  3.  I need to FURTHER develop and increase fear of Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) in my heart.  If the reason for my inability to follow the command of Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) is that my eemaan is wavering, then my heart needs a reminder of my death and my accountability in the grave and on the Day of Judgement. This can come through a connection with the Qur’an, and the intention to implement what I learn.
  4. I need to reduce the love of the dunya within myself. Though superficially I like to believe that I’m not a materialistic person and that I’m not at all absorbed by the world and its glitter. Yet, if I truly evaluate myself, I find that my lifestyle tells a different story. The desire to win the approval of family and friends, to achieve more for my kids and to struggle more for the worldly tasks, is what  consumes my life day in and day out. 

The bottom line, therefore, is that it is all in the mind and heart. The day I truly believe that I will lose nothing of this world or the Hereafter by holding on to the Book of Allah (سبحانه و تعالى), I will be able to adopt or let go of the worldly desires with ease. It all starts with conviction! I pray to Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) to make my heart a convinced one. Ameen.

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

