The Essence of Du’a


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Faiza Ghani

ادْعُواْ رَبَّكُمْ تَضَرُّعًا وَخُفْيَةً إِنَّهُ لاَ يُحِبُّ الْمُعْتَدِينَ 7:55

وَلاَ تُفْسِدُواْ فِي الأَرْضِ بَعْدَ إِصْلاَحِهَا وَادْعُوهُ خَوْفًا وَطَمَعًا إِنَّ رَحْمَتَ اللّهِ قَرِيبٌ مِّنَ الْمُحْسِنِينَ 7:56

“Call upon your Lord in humility and privately; indeed, He does not like transgressors. And cause not corruption upon the earth after its reformation. And invoke Him in fear and aspiration. Indeed, the Mercy of Allah is near to the doers of good.”

[Al-Qur’an – Surat Al-A’raf (The Heights): 55-56]

Do I call out to Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) with humility and in private? Do I call on Him with fear and hope?

After going through the tafsir of these ayaat, I feel as if my supplications to Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) are severely lacking in substance. Alhamdulillah, I have always tried to pray in private in order to save myself from riya. However, I now realize that even though it seems instinctive to make du’a humbly, my humility has not been consistent.

I have noticed that I am most humble in my supplications when I have spent the day continuously thinking about my sins and carrying the weight of their guilt.  I have also realized that on days when I am not mindful of my sins, I get too hopeful that Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) will easily forgive me and my prayers lack the element of fear. As a consequence I end up supplicating with dry eyes and a distracted mind. May Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) forgive me. Aameen

I understand that I must improve my connection with Allah (سبحانه وتعالى). Keeping Adam (عليهِ سلام)’s du’a in mind, we need to constantly remind ourselves of our flaws and how transgressive we are in front of Allah (سبحانه وتعالى), yet how Merciful He is to constantly bless us. We need to remember that there is not a single thing we can accomplish without His help, especially when we are in need. One way to keep motivated is by thinking of the supplications of the prophets, for example, the du’a of Rasul Allah (صلي  اللهُ عليهِ وسلم) after Taif, Musa (عليهِ سلام) after he ran away from Egypt or Yunus (عليهِ سلام) when he was trapped in the belly of the whale. Also, thinking of the Hereafter – like the squeezing of the grave, the punishments for different sins, or the way people of Hell will beg people of Paradise for water. This helps keep fear in mind. Counting our blessings and reflecting on the many ayaat of Allah  (سبحانه وتعالى) brings hope into our hearts.

I have also realized the importance of making du’a outside of salaah and the common masnoon times (morning and evenings, when entering the toilet are amongst the many duas). For example, we can supplicate while meeting a friend, cleaning, or even switching on a laptop. We need Allah (سبحانه وتعالى)’s guidance and protection at every instance of our life.

May Allah (سبحانه وتعالى) give us the tawfiq to improve our worship, and may He reward us for our efforts. Aameen.

 

About Quran Reflections

Al-Huda's branch at Khayaban-e-Sehar is one of the few Quran courses being regularly conducted in Karachi, Pakistan, where the mode of instruction and examination is English. The students and teachers have decided to upload their reflections on the Quran and class notes on this blog, in order to be available to a global audience for the latter's benefit and inspiration.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

